DracoSuave
First Post
While naturally I would cede to your request, it's already been done in this thread (in fact, looking back on it, by you.) Not to mention the various tweets and other communiques from the designers outright spelling this out back when the whole argument first started.
Actually, his quote does not support the 'all attacks hit' thing.
EDIT: Went through the thread as well. The designers never mention that Magic Missile hits the target. They mention that it is making an attack. That is all.
Of course, as soon as the RAW declared Magic Missile was an attack, all the naysayers cried "but they didn't say it was a hit!" and no, the FAQ itself does not, but now you're just grasping at straws.
Except hit is defined by the rules. This 'auto-attack' thing does not exist in the rules, is never mentioned in the rules. Executing the rules is not grasping at straws. Saying that it's a hit because you heard somewhere some guy in a forum said it was is grasping at straws.
Attacks produce hits;
Attack rolls produce hits. Attacks may not produce attack rolls.
just as not-attacks (i.e, the extra Cleave damage) do not produce hits.
Explain your logic here, you're contradicting yourself. Damage dealt by an attack power is a hit, unless it's dealt to a monster you did not roll an attack roll against, unless you're not rolling any attack rolls?
Cleave damage only occurs on a hit! So you're saying that damage that does not occur on a hit does in fact hit but that damage that does occur on a hit may not in fact be a hit.
Please explain the 'logic' behind this. Page references would be nice. Use the rules. Or find the forum.
This is the simplest, most elegant way to define a hit.
Except of course for the self-contradictory part that relays on ambiguity and interpreting rules based on what some guy said in a forum somewhere.
Saying that a power requires a "Hit" line to be a hit is the same as saying a power requires an "Attack" line to be an attack,
But that's not the right logic.
An attack is defined not by the Attack 'line' but by being an attack power. A hit is defined not by the hit line, but by being a successful roll of attack dice. Also, effects are not restricted to the effect line either.
and the Magic Missile errata and accompanying FAQ already proves line of thinking false.
Except the Faq does not say Magic Missile hits, and the update does not say Magic Missile hits.
I'll admit it's not an absolute slam-dunk in saying that Magic Missile = hit, but it's closest possible thing. The only logic that can prove that Magic Missile is a hit is the same logic that only works if it isn't also an attack.
Incorrect. The only logic that says that Magic Missile does not hit is because you never succeed on an attack roll. That's all that is required, as a hit is A SUCCESSFUL ATTACK ROLL.
The oft-quoted line from the PHB is, at best, outdated. The full paragraph is as follows:
It's the definition of a hit. It shows 'Look, an attack roll. that is successful, is a hit.' It's also based on PHB1 rules tech. The precidents contained within that book still apply.
Now, the first sentence quoted here is demonstrably false. The second sentence, which has been quoted here several times, is therefore based on a faulty premise. Back when the PHB was first published, an attack required an attack roll, and a hit required an attack. This has changed. There are attacks that no longer require attack rolls. So does a hit now require an attack roll, or does a hit require an attack? The PHB is, remarkably, ambiguous. How so? The next paragraph begins thusly.
The thing is tho, the rules still applies. If, during your attack, you rolled the d20 and added modifiers, and beat the defense, you got a hit. If your attack does not require this, you did not do that, and you could not have gotten a hit. Just because Magic Missile is an attack does not suddenly make the need for that attack roll magically disappear.
Emphasis added, but this line definitely seems to imply that the "effect" line is just as important as the "hit" when it comes to determining a hit. Is it tenuous? Yeah sure, but far less so than a quote from the PHB relying on an outdated definition of the term "attack." Since an attack no longer requires an attack roll, why must we cling to that same definition for the purposes of a "hit"?
Effects of a power are not restricted to the effect line. You're clinging far too much on the idea that it's the Hit line that defines a hit. It does not. It defines the RESULT of a hit for that power. The definition of hit is a successful attack roll.
No other text exists in the game to even hint that anything else could be a hit, barring a power that says, flat out 'You hit.' But that's an exception.
Does this definition lead to some... interesting consequences? Yes.
Pulling rules out of your ass often does.
But just because a rule change breaks something doesn't make it not a rule change.
Where IS this rule change? That's the problem with your logic, you mention this rule change. You point out its effects.
YOU DO NOT POINT OUT THE RULE CHANGE.
Simply put, your 'new definition for hit' does not actually exist. It's a made up thing. It's a vaporrule. Point it out. Cite a page. Link the Rules Comp. Show the errata. Do -something- to prove this rule exists.
Do I think WotC will ever definitively spell it out? No; I don't think there isn't a fully elegant solution that would satisfactorily cover all bases. There'd always be some exception here; some broken combo there. So yes, Magic Missile and Flurry of Blows are definitely attacks, and yes, they almost definitely constitute hits.
There is a fully elegant solution. Use the rule that exists. It works. Don't use 'some guy on a forum said blah somewhere' and call that a game rule.
Grab the book it is in, grab the page, and prove its existance.
I'm pretty sure there was an actual post from one of the devs either in the thread linked above or in one of the other similar threads that have hashed this out over and over on Q&A. I'm REALLY not going to go through 100+ pages of threads looking for it.
I'm pretty sure there isn't. And I don't exactly trust your record of interpreting things on this topic. So 'I'm sure it's there but I don't wanna look' ain't making your case. All your case is in this regard is 'I heard a guy on a forum who I think said this.' That ain't an argument.
You can accept that FAQ entry 38 implies that MM and similar powers DO hit, accept the obvious RAI, or play it whatever way you feel like.
It says Magic Missile is an attack. It does not say (nor imply) Magic Missile counts as making an attack roll, and it certainly does not say (nor imply) Magic Missile hits its target.
It is defining the term 'making an attack' for the purposes of Greater Invisibility. Making an attack is not the same concept as hitting. It doesn't go beyond that point.
While Greg Bilsland didn't address this issue exactly in the quote in the linked thread I seriously doubt he's going to come down on the side of it being an attack and then say it doesn't HIT.
And here is the truth. He doesn't actually say that it's a hit. So, your argument has gone from 'He said it was a hit!' to 'I'm sure he'd say it'd be a hit.'
Thus, you've gone from saying 'This thread proves my argument!' to 'I'm sure he'd say my argument is proven!'
An attack that damages a specific target is an attack and it hits.
Given your argument is now consisting of 'I heard some guy on a forum might say that if we asked him' that's not really a good argument.
Try rules text, buddy. Cite some rules, son!
If there are issues with that and other powers they need to be taken up there. As with a lot of similar areas of 4e there simply IS no one totally consistent reading of the rules that will do exactly what you want all the time. They simply aren't anywhere near written tightly enough for that.
Bullocks.
To hit is to equal or exceed a defense with an attack roll. This works 100% of the time. If you claim it does not, show me an example where this interpretation causes some sort of break down. Some rules don't always work... this one is not one of those rules.
And before you bring up magic missile, watch the rule in action.
'Magic Missile doesn't roll an attack roll, so it cannot beat a defense, so it does not hit.' BAM RULE WORKS PERFECTLY.
Allow me to point out the fallacy of your argument for you:
Let's take the power Reveletory Strike, Ardent level 23, PHB3, unaugmented.
Attack, Close burst 10, targets one one ally in burst, makes the target do an MBA as a free action, and other stuff if that MBA hits.
Does this qualify as making an attack? Yes. It is an attack power, and it targets someone.
Does this qualify as hitting the target? No. You are not hitting your ally. You're not even attacking your ally. But he's the target of the power, just the same as magic missile. It has an effect on him, same as magic missile. It is making an attack, same as magic missile.
So why aren't you hitting him? Because you're not rolling an attack roll... same as magic missile.
Last edited: