D&D 5E (2024) Conjure elemental makes no sense...

Many spells don't say anything about a successful save. Command, for instance, just mentions failed saves.
That is exactly my problem.

If you want it in code format.
start of turn (t)

Note that while there are 2 "start of turn triggers, the target gets to choose the order. So only 1 will apply.

I think your code is wrong, I try to fix it.

If (elemental.restrained == NULL) && (t.distance(elemental) < 5)
Then if (t.DexSave)
Then {
t.damage(8d8)
Elemental.restrained = t)
}
Else elemental.restrained = NULL

Else if (elemental.restrained == t)
Then if (t.DexSave) //note restrained gives disadvantage.
t.damage(4d8)

The wording suggests, that the Else statement belongs to the first if t.DexSave

If the last line was: on a success, the target is no longer restrained, we did not have this discussion.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



That is the only spell that uses that wording to end the condition... It really makes no sense semantically.
Fear has "On a successful save, the spell ends on that creature."
Web has "If it succeeds, it is no longer Restrained."
Ensnaring Stike has "On a success, the spell ends."
Conjure Elementals has "On a successful save, the target isn't Restrained by the spirit."

Not seeing the difference.

The only odd thing IMO is that it has 2 different damage rolls depending if it's the initial grab or still being held.

It's also worth noting that unlike other Restrained, there's no way to break out beside the Dex save. While I expect most DMs will allow teleporting away, that's not in the rules.
 

Fear has "On a successful save, the spell ends on that creature."
Web has "If it succeeds, it is no longer Restrained."
Ensnaring Stike has "On a success, the spell ends."
Conjure Elementals has "On a successful save, the target isn't Restrained by the spirit."

Not seeing the difference.
I do see a difference there.

It does not read: "...isn't restrained anymore." Those are two different things.
The only odd thing IMO is that it has 2 different damage rolls depending if it's the initial grab or still being held.
Yes, odd.
It's also worth noting that unlike other Restrained, there's no way to break out beside the Dex save. While I expect most DMs will allow teleporting away, that's not in the rules.
I checked: entangle and the like also does not explicitely say that. So I let it slide.
 

I do see a difference there.

It does not read: "...isn't restrained anymore." Those are two different things.
"isn't Restrained" is all that you need, and seems pretty clear.
"Anymore" seems superfluous.

IMO.
Yes, odd.
Well it has built in disadvantage, so I kind of get it.
Also no size restriction.

So drop it on an Ogre and walk away till it dies.

I checked: entangle and the like also does not explicitely say that. So I let it slide.
Yeah. I expect most DMs would say it breaks when you leave the area.
 

I get how the spell works. But, for me, it's unfortunate that they turned the spell into essentially conjuring a big sticky damaging wall.
 

Honestly the spell's description seems clear to me. It looks very uncomplicated. Make a target roll a save; on success nothing happens, like with many other spells. On failure the target takes damage and is restrained. At the start of the target's turns it can repeat the save; on success no further damage and the restrained condition ends; on failure the target takes damage and the condition persists. The other way to end it is to break the caster's concentration.

I get how the spell works. But, for me, it's unfortunate that they turned the spell into essentially conjuring a big sticky damaging wall.
Because Summon Elemental summons a proper creature with a stat block that you control. Now you can summon a creature or conjure an effect, depending on your needs.
 

Remove ads

Top