D&D 5E (2024) Conjure elemental makes no sense...

Many spells don't say anything about a successful save. Command, for instance, just mentions failed saves.
That is exactly my problem.

If you want it in code format.
start of turn (t)

Note that while there are 2 "start of turn triggers, the target gets to choose the order. So only 1 will apply.

I think your code is wrong, I try to fix it.

If (elemental.restrained == NULL) && (t.distance(elemental) < 5)
Then if (t.DexSave)
Then {
t.damage(8d8)
Elemental.restrained = t)
}
Else elemental.restrained = NULL

Else if (elemental.restrained == t)
Then if (t.DexSave) //note restrained gives disadvantage.
t.damage(4d8)

The wording suggests, that the Else statement belongs to the first if t.DexSave

If the last line was: on a success, the target is no longer restrained, we did not have this discussion.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



That is the only spell that uses that wording to end the condition... It really makes no sense semantically.
Fear has "On a successful save, the spell ends on that creature."
Web has "If it succeeds, it is no longer Restrained."
Ensnaring Stike has "On a success, the spell ends."
Conjure Elementals has "On a successful save, the target isn't Restrained by the spirit."

Not seeing the difference.

The only odd thing IMO is that it has 2 different damage rolls depending if it's the initial grab or still being held.

It's also worth noting that unlike other Restrained, there's no way to break out beside the Dex save. While I expect most DMs will allow teleporting away, that's not in the rules.
 

Fear has "On a successful save, the spell ends on that creature."
Web has "If it succeeds, it is no longer Restrained."
Ensnaring Stike has "On a success, the spell ends."
Conjure Elementals has "On a successful save, the target isn't Restrained by the spirit."

Not seeing the difference.
I do see a difference there.

It does not read: "...isn't restrained anymore." Those are two different things.
The only odd thing IMO is that it has 2 different damage rolls depending if it's the initial grab or still being held.
Yes, odd.
It's also worth noting that unlike other Restrained, there's no way to break out beside the Dex save. While I expect most DMs will allow teleporting away, that's not in the rules.
I checked: entangle and the like also does not explicitely say that. So I let it slide.
 

Remove ads

Top