War Golem
First Post
If a creature has an item or innate ability that is usable 1/day, how exactly do you DMs adjudicate this?
Often, it's not a big deal, but we had a situation the other night where the vagueness of this rule smacked us upside our collective heads. The party was attacked in the middle of their second watch, about 2 AM. One of the cleric's used an item ability (per rules, usable 1/day) during this melee. When exactly is this item usable again? The cleric wanted to know if the item could be used again later that day (say, around 6 PM). (Would your answer change if the melee had taken place at 9 PM instead of 2 AM?)
For what it's worth, this cleric normally prays for her spells at dawn. I don't know if that is relevant for an item, but maybe it would be for an innate ability? Another example - a demon that casts fireball 1/day?
If this is explained in the rulebook somewhere, my apologies - please just give me a page number to point me in the right direction.
Thanks.
Often, it's not a big deal, but we had a situation the other night where the vagueness of this rule smacked us upside our collective heads. The party was attacked in the middle of their second watch, about 2 AM. One of the cleric's used an item ability (per rules, usable 1/day) during this melee. When exactly is this item usable again? The cleric wanted to know if the item could be used again later that day (say, around 6 PM). (Would your answer change if the melee had taken place at 9 PM instead of 2 AM?)
For what it's worth, this cleric normally prays for her spells at dawn. I don't know if that is relevant for an item, but maybe it would be for an innate ability? Another example - a demon that casts fireball 1/day?
If this is explained in the rulebook somewhere, my apologies - please just give me a page number to point me in the right direction.
Thanks.