5ft. step triggered by Speak?

Nim said:
You know, I went back to the SRD to check on this and I couldn't even find the spot where it says a 5-foot step is 'not an action'.

Table 8-2: Actions in Combat, PHB p. 141 (and also in the SRD). However, in other places the 5-foot step is implicitly referred to as "an action" (e.g. see PHB p. 144, under Miscellaneous Actions).

5-foot step works differently from any other action, but there's nothing that says you can do it outside of your turn, so it follows the general rule - you can only do it on your turn.

Nim said:
In fact, can anyone offer a legit example of a 5-foot step that isn't part of a move action, standard action, or full action?

Sure. A character can take a 5-foot step and do nothing else in the round.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Evil DM said:

And a 5' step , although not a action, still only takes place in your round (when you get to act)

That is my problem. I think you mean the following from the SRD:
You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

But where is said that they have to been on your initiative count. Please do not get me wrong - I do not want to finde a broken rule by force.
I am just interested if this phrase means that the 5ft. step has to be on your initiative count.
As you probably agree with me: befor, during or after other actions in the round can be read as at any time during the round
As I see: It can be - if someone realy can tell why it has to be only on your initiative count then I will be satisfied at once and the whole problem dies for me.

Cheers, Evil DM


From the SRD:

THE COMBAT ROUND
Each round represents 6 seconds in the game world. A round presents an opportunity for each character involved in a combat situation to take an action.

Each round’s activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds, in order, from there. Each round of a combat uses the same initiative order. When a character’s turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round’s worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)

For almost all purposes, there is no relevance to the end of a round or the beginning of a round. A round can be a segment of game time starting with the first character to act and ending with the last, but it usually means a span of time from one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

Note the "only" exceptions listed for not performing all of your actions during your turn in the initiative order are those listed (and explained) under AoO and Special Initiative Actions.

Now check Complete Arcane for the rules on Imediate and Swift actions. But pretty much the 5 ft step is not addressed as being included in these actions - nor is the speak action. So by default the standard rules apply - all actions are taken during your turn in the initiative order (unless otherwise specified).
 

irdeggman said:
But pretty much the 5 ft step is not addressed as being included in these actions - nor is the speak action. So by default the standard rules apply - all actions are taken during your turn in the initiative order (unless otherwise specified).
You can speak when it is not your turn, unless the DM rules otherwise. See PHB p. 144 under "Speak". There is a specific rule for speaking out of turn, but not for 5-foot-stepping.
 

Len said:
You can speak when it is not your turn, unless the DM rules otherwise. See PHB p. 144 under "Speak". There is a specific rule for speaking out of turn, but not for 5-foot-stepping.


Correct, which is why I said (unless otherwise specified). The speak action does say it can happen anytime - but not the 5ft step which is the crux of this question - can you take a 5ft step in with a speak action (outside of your normal turn in the initiative).
 

Evil DM said:

And a 5' step , although not a action, still only takes place in your round (when you get to act)

That is my problem. I think you mean the following from the SRD:
You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

But where is said that they have to been on your initiative count. Please do not get me wrong - I do not want to finde a broken rule by force.
I am just interested if this phrase means that the 5ft. step has to be on your initiative count.
As you probably agree with me: befor, during or after other actions in the round can be read as at any time during the round
As I see: It can be - if someone realy can tell why it has to be only on your initiative count then I will be satisfied at once and the whole problem dies for me.

Cheers, Evil DM

I think I understand your point now.
Although the SRD says "a 5' step does not count as a action", it is still an act. Because its an act,even if a small one, you can only use it on your inititive.
I don't belive it specificly says this anywhere. However if you allowed this then really any free actions, or actions less than a standard action , could be actioned out of intitive order. Which would give you lots of rule problems.
 

Remove ads

Top