AoO Q - Cat vs. Commoner

MarkB said:
Which brings up another question - if a tiny creature moves, say, 10 feet to enter the square of an opponent with Combat Reflexes, does the opponent get to make two AoOs?
No, just one. It is movement.

Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

IMHO, the Tiny creature's attack includes moving into the opponent's space, attacking, then returning to its own space.
 

am i the only one who is wondering why a cat is fighting a commoner? i'm sure the kitty can't even deal lethal damage, and what exactly did the commoner do? :s
 

frankthedm said:
Actually the tiny creature could use the 5' adjustment to enter the foes square.
Actually, no, he can't. He can use movement to enter the square, but not a 5ft-step. So far, everything you've quoted supports the stance that movement is allowed (with the special exception for Tiny creatures), but nothing at all supports a 5ft-step.
 

Klaus said:
IMHO, the Tiny creature's attack includes moving into the opponent's space, attacking, then returning to its own space.
So, all Tiny creatures have Spring Attack? No, definitely not. I don't see what rules even remotely support that position.
 

Diomeneus said:
am i the only one who is wondering why a cat is fighting a commoner? i'm sure the kitty can't even deal lethal damage, and what exactly did the commoner do? :s

I'd say the cat is showing the commoner who's boss!

Looking at the stats - that cat stands a pretty good chance of killing Bob the commoner in a fair fight. :)

Although with the move silently score, he's probably best of waiting till Bob is asleep and CDGing him?
 

i don't think i've ever heard of a housecat killing a full grown ... anything for that matter, maybe a baby or child, but they just don't possess large enough tools for killing something large... think of a whip, it deals gashes many times deeper and lethal then a cat could do with a full 20 seconds. Its just silly
 

frankthedm said:
Actually the tiny creature could use the 5' adjustment to enter the foes square. It just does not help stop the AoO from the creatures' whose space they enter. Others who threatened the tiny bugger however would be denied thier AoOs. Also the way the rules read, they do seem compliant to the tiny creature remaining in opponent's square.

That's how I read it. Certainly the cat provokes on entering the square; I see no problem with allowing the cat to remain in the opponent's square (otherwise no full attacks for the cat, because the human will step back every time forcing the cat to move 10' into the square).
 

An off the wall thought just occured to me:

If another creature (three or more sizes larger) enters the square occupied by the Tiny cat, does the cat get an attack of opportunity? It would seem so even though the cat does not threaten the squares around it, it does still threaten the square it occupies. Same for a Diminutive or Fine creature. The whole square.

Ciao
Dave
 


Remove ads

Top