Arcane Spell Failure from Reading Scrolls?

two

First Post
Are scrolls spell trigger items?

Can a Cleric with the Magic domain read a scroll of magic missle in full plate without fear of arcane spell failure?

I think this is the case; because of double-indemnity.

If you scribe a scroll in full plate, would you apply an arcane spell failure chance? I would.

If you succeed and then read that scroll, would you give ANOTHER spell failure chance? i.e. the spell is "cast" somatically twice, thus two chances to screw up? I would say no.

Plus, I don't like the idea of having a "cursed" scroll read by somebody in armor and having the spell, well, fail. I mean, that's just dumb.

Is there an official ruling I missed on the subject?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

(Going completely from memory -- so someone else is free to correct me)

I think that spell completion items are considered to have thier components taken into account at the time of creation. Thus, when actually using the scroll, the compotents (including the v,s, etc) are already done. you are only doing the final word/gesture.

And, presumably, this final word / gesture is not the part that needs the spell failure check....

all that said, bottom line, as best as I recall, using a scroll (a spell completion item) does not require an arcane spell failure check.

:)
 

fba827 said:
(Going completely from memory -- so someone else is free to correct me)

I think that spell completion items are considered to have thier components taken into account at the time of creation. Thus, when actually using the scroll, the compotents (including the v,s, etc) are already done. you are only doing the final word/gesture.

And, presumably, this final word / gesture is not the part that needs the spell failure check....

all that said, bottom line, as best as I recall, using a scroll (a spell completion item) does not require an arcane spell failure check.

:)

Scrolls are spell completion items and according to page 175 in the DMG, "all that's left to do is perform the short, simple, finishing parts of the spellcasting (final gestures, words, and so on.).
 

The core rules do not clearly give an answer one way or the other so there is some debate. The FAQ however does give a clear answer. Page 28 of the 4/4/03 revision of the Main D&D FAQ.


"Is an armor-clad character who can use arcane scrolls
subject to the spell failure chance from armor when using
an arcane scroll? What about other magic items?

Arcane spell failure doesn’t apply when you’re activating a
magic item—not even a scroll."
 

Arksorn said:
Page 28 of the 4/4/03 revision of the Main D&D FAQ.


"Is an armor-clad character who can use arcane scrolls
subject to the spell failure chance from armor when using
an arcane scroll? What about other magic items?

Arcane spell failure doesn’t apply when you’re activating a
magic item—not even a scroll."

I guess that answers that. :D
 


Which I infere from Caliban's statement that completion items might suffer from spell failure in 3.5.

If you wish to confirm this Caliban please post no reply in the next 3 minutes, we will take that as confirmation :)
 

I certainly hope they (re-)introduce spell failure for scrolls in 3.5e. Otherwise it makes the Caster Shield a silly magic item and detracts from scribing scrolls using the Still Feat. Just my take on it.

Greg
 


I disagree, Zhure.

A scroll still takes time, money, and experience to make.

If a spellcaster has already either 1)taken a level (or more) away from his spellcasting class to learn to wear armor, or 2)has burned a feat to wear armor, then throw them this bone in letting them cast spells from scrolls.
 

Remove ads

Top