Artificer magic item replenishment

[offtopic]In 3e (dunno if it's legal in 4e), a commoner railgun involved getting a very large number of commoner to get into a single line, all readying an action to take an item (usually a quarterstaff, IIRC) from the person to their right and pass it to the person to their left. Thus, one could argue that a single quarterstaff could travel immense distances in 6 seconds (a round), thereby justifying essentially ballistic-level damage. A similar concept in 4e is FTeLf - a sufficiently large group of elves who all have the Light Step feat could travel faster than light, by the numbers. No sane DM ever allowed these in play, tho.[/offtopic]
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Thanks everyone for your input.

We are starting the relevant campaign on friday so I'm going to send the link of this thread to my players and we will vote on it.
 

You use the item, the magic is gone until tomorrow. You recharge the item, the magic's back. But if you're heroic tier, you still can't use it again until you reach a milestone. All the artificer did was put the magic back into the item. If you say that this means you can use it again, then your also saying that if you have 3 items with daily's you can use them all in a single day, cuz the magic is in them. We know this isn't true.

The designers are USUALLY pretty specific, if they meant for it to circumvent the once-per-day-per-tier rule, it would have been worded that way. All it says is that it recharges the item itself. Nothing else is changed.

You COULD argue that its a loophole, but by definition, a loophole is a circumvention of a rule which is UNINTENDED by the creator(s) of that rule (IE the designers.) In which case, do you whatever you want and call it what it is: A Houserule.
 

Remove ads

Top