Attack Bonus for two touch spells

cidak

First Post
What is the impact on Attack bonus for casting two touch or ranged touch attack spells in the one round?

For example. I cast Quickened Scorching Ray and and Scorching Ray do I use my full attack bonus for both - d20+11, d20+11,
full attack -2 (like two weapon fighting) - d20+9, d20+9 or
full attack for the first and -5 for the second as for an iterative attack? - d20+11, d20+6

There appears to be no guildline for this. I am inclined to say that both are at full attack bonus, but I would like you views.

Thanks
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Lo said:
There appears to be no guildline for this. I am inclined to say that both are at full attack bonus, but I would like you views.

Yes. The attack roll is part of the 'Cast a Spell' action, not a Full Attack action.

-Hyp.
 

Now what about produce flame?

Produce Flame
Evocation [Fire]
Level: Drd 1, Fire 2
Components: V, S
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: 0 ft.
Effect: Flame in your palm
Duration: 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes
Flames as bright as a torch appear in your open hand. The flames harm neither you nor your equipment.
In addition to providing illumination, the flames can be hurled or used to touch enemies. You can strike an opponent with a melee touch attack, dealing fire damage equal to 1d6 +1 point per caster level (maximum +5). Alternatively, you can hurl the flames up to 120 feet as a thrown weapon. When doing so, you attack with a ranged touch attack (with no range penalty) and deal the same damage as with the melee attack. No sooner do you hurl the flames than a new set appears in your hand. Each attack you make reduces the remaining duration by 1 minute. If an attack reduces the remaining duration to 0 minutes or less, the spell ends after the attack resolves.
This spell does not function underwater.
 

My druid player recently brought up produce flame. I noted it says "as a thrown weapon" and the flame immediately re-appears. I judged that in all cases it acts like normal ranged attacks, including use of Rapid Shot, etc. (To go along with Hyp, at that point you're not casting a spell, you're making use of a magically-produced weapon.)
 
Last edited:

frankthedm said:
Now how about Produce Flame?

Well, after the initial Cast a Spell action, which produces the flames, you must use an attack action or full attack action to actually use them. Produce Flame is an effect spell like Flame Blade - you don't get a 'free' touch in the same round liek you do with, say, Shocking Grasp.

So if you use iterative attacks in a FAA to use Produce Flame, you would use your iterative BAB on the attack rolls...

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top