D&D 5E Attacks of Opportunity

shadowoflameth

Adventurer
Am I reading correctly, that in this Edition 5e the correct ruling is that Opportunity attacks happen on moving out of the enemy's reach only? Casting a spell appears to only draw one against a foe with Mage Killer or the like, and ranged attacks do not.

Am I missing something here?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You're not missing much. Ranged attacks do have Disadvantage when used in melee, that can be seen as modeling the same shouldn't-use-a-bow-in-melee issue as OAs in 3e. Casting spells in 5e is pretty carefree.

Not a lot of call for OAs. And they take your Reaction, so only 1/round.
 

Opportunity attacks do occur, but most certainly less frequently than in 3d edition.

In5th edition oa is only triggered by moving out of reach of an enemy. The enemy can use its reaction to make a single attack with a melee weapon.

Things that dont trigger oa's are:
* casting a spell when next to an enemy.
* using disengage action before moving out of an enemy reach.
* firing a ranged weapon when next to an enemy.
* forced movement due to push or pull effects.

Of course, there are effects such as feats which modify these conditions.
* warcaster allows casting a spell instead of using a melee weapon.
* polearm master allows triggering oa's when a enemy moves into your reach.
* sentinel allows oa's even if the enemy usedbthe disengage action.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top