Blasts


log in or register to remove this ad

bording said:
I specifically asked James Wyatt about blasts, and he told me that they are a square area that is adjacent to the space of the creature using the blast.
That sounds dumb. I might change my mind seeing how they present it in the rules, but first impression, I'm thinking I'll regret blasts in 4E just like I regretted cones in 3E.

I was really hoping blasts would just be a straight line. Bursts be at one square and eminate outward in all directions, blasts could start at one square and move outward in one specific direction. Easy breezy. It would have done away with cones, but I don't think that's a bad thing.

Oh well.
 

Steely Dan said:
So we have Blast, Burst, Area and Range…any others?

Well, we also have Close, which starts with squares adjacent to you. But this is where I get confused:

Area and Ranged provoke OA, Close does not.

Scorching Burst is listed as "Area burst 1 within 10" and Targets each creatures in burst.

So, if I target an opponent in an adjacent square, not only am I in the area of effect, I'm going to provoke? (Odd example I realize -- maybe I've got a Floppy Hat of Fire Resistance).

Seems like we've got more descriptors than we need. Blast and Burst describe the shape of the effect; Range and Close tell you whether you provoke. I suppose Area could be for oddly shaped effects -- by why does it matter if it provokes? Either it's Close (no provoke) or Ranged (provoke).

One last oddity: if you cast a Ranged attack at an adjacent square, it apparently doesn't become close -- that is, it still provokes.
 

LEHaskell said:
Well, we also have Close, which starts with squares adjacent to you. But this is where I get confused:

Area and Ranged provoke OA, Close does not.

Scorching Burst is listed as "Area burst 1 within 10" and Targets each creatures in burst.

So, if I target an opponent in an adjacent square, not only am I in the area of effect, I'm going to provoke? (Odd example I realize -- maybe I've got a Floppy Hat of Fire Resistance).

Seems like we've got more descriptors than we need. Blast and Burst describe the shape of the effect; Range and Close tell you whether you provoke. I suppose Area could be for oddly shaped effects -- by why does it matter if it provokes? Either it's Close (no provoke) or Ranged (provoke).

One last oddity: if you cast a Ranged attack at an adjacent square, it apparently doesn't become close -- that is, it still provokes.

I guess I'll be nice and tell you. Bursts always radiate out from a square. If it's a close burst, it radiates out from your square (or your space if you're large). If it's an area burst, you pick an "origin square" within the range indicated (so area burst 1 within 10 means you pick a square within 10, and the explosion hits that square and all adjacent squares).

I wasn't at D&D Experience, so I figure this is my chance to let some mechanics slip. ;)
 

WotC_Logan said:
I guess I'll be nice and tell you. Bursts always radiate out from a square. If it's a close burst, it radiates out from your square (or your space if you're large). If it's an area burst, you pick an "origin square" within the range indicated (so area burst 1 within 10 means you pick a square within 10, and the explosion hits that square and all adjacent squares).

I wasn't at D&D Experience, so I figure this is my chance to let some mechanics slip. ;)

Okay, but what about "blast", why does it say close blast 5, when by definition, a blast is close?
 

WotC_Logan said:
I guess I'll be nice and tell you. Bursts always radiate out from a square. If it's a close burst, it radiates out from your square (or your space if you're large). If it's an area burst, you pick an "origin square" within the range indicated (so area burst 1 within 10 means you pick a square within 10, and the explosion hits that square and all adjacent squares).

I wasn't at D&D Experience, so I figure this is my chance to let some mechanics slip. ;)

Thank you Mr. Bonner!

I think I'd sussed most of it out -- it's really pretty straightforward, but it's nice to have confirmation from "The Source".

My only real confusion was why the Area keyword -- it really doesn't seem necessary. Apparently it indicates that a spell provokes, but it reads likes a description of the targeting. Seems like Range X Burst Y or Close Burst Z would cover the possibilities.
 


Steely Dan said:
Okay, but what about "blast", why does it say close blast 5, when by definition, a blast is close?
IIUc"Close" means No AOOs.

Thus close blast 5 nails everyone within 5 squares without causing you to draw op-attacks.
 

LEHaskell said:
Thank you Mr. Bonner!

I think I'd sussed most of it out -- it's really pretty straightforward, but it's nice to have confirmation from "The Source".

My only real confusion was why the Area keyword -- it really doesn't seem necessary. Apparently it indicates that a spell provokes, but it reads likes a description of the targeting. Seems like Range X Burst Y or Close Burst Z would cover the possibilities.

Think of the keywords as a general indicator of how a power works. If you hear about an "area" attack, you have a pretty good idea that it's a multi-target attack at range. If you hear about a "close attack," it's probably going to multiple creatures near you. And, of course, they tell you in one word whether the attack provokes. So the word "area" isn't strictly necessary, but it has a purpose because it groups multiple concepts into one word. We also have other mechanics keying off the keyword, so you might have a wizard's wand that keys off of area attacks, and it's simpler to do that than "burst attack with a range greater than 1" or whatever.
 

Derren said:
So black dragons are now breathing and farting acid at the same time?

Are you trying to win some sort of 4E Threadcrapping Olympics?

WoTC_Logan said:
Think of the keywords as a general indicator of how a power works. If you hear about an "area" attack, you have a pretty good idea that it's a multi-target attack at range. If you hear about a "close attack," it's probably going to multiple creatures near you. And, of course, they tell you in one word whether the attack provokes. So the word "area" isn't strictly necessary, but it has a purpose because it groups multiple concepts into one word. We also have other mechanics keying off the keyword, so you might have a wizard's wand that keys off of area attacks, and it's simpler to do that than "burst attack with a range greater than 1" or whatever.

This is a fairly elegant explanation/breakdown. Thank you.

So, I assume the 12x12 was an adjudication error? From what I recall of the sample map for the dragon encounter in Scalegloom that someone sketched up and posted here, 12x12 basically covers about 75% of the room he occupies.
 

Remove ads

Top