Bloodclaw + Reckless = Megahertz:)


log in or register to remove this ad

OK, I can see how RAW could be interpreted either way. Since the PHB section I mentioned refers to large creatures I can see how it could be argued not to apply to bugbears. My logic was not this so much as the connection I saw between the two weapon types. In this PHB section after the weapons are defined (cannot recall the page right now) I noticed that, even though speaking of what large creatures could do, it said that such a creature could use either a larger version of a medium creature's weapon or just as easily use a two-handed version of a medium creature's weapon. The section does not mention medium creatures specifically, it is general because a huge creature could use a two-handed version of a large creature's weapon, and so on, but I am just looking at the rule for large creatures at the moment. So with this said, since the PHB seems to equate a larger version of a medium weapon with a two-handed version of a medium weapon, I went with the line of logic that if a bugbear can also wield a larger version of a medium weapon then it would follow he could also wield a two-handed version of a medium weapon as well, and I mean wield in one hand of course. This based on the PHB description that seems to equate these two types of weapons when describing what larger creatures can do.

Yes, I know bugbears are not large, but I am not using that part of it, just the fact that this section seems to make the two weapon types equal when it comes to wielding them. So it did not seem like much of a jump to then assume a bugbear could wield either a larger version of a medium weapon (which is RAW by definition) or, based on the PHB section, a weapon that would be equivalent to such for purposes of what can be used, which would be a two-handed weapon for medium creatures.

So I know that would not be RAW explicitly, but it seems it could be RAW implicitly, since the RAW seem to equate these two types of weapons in the description pertaining to oversized weapon use.

Larry
 

So with this said, since the PHB seems to equate a larger version of a medium weapon with a two-handed version of a medium weapon


It doesn't equate them at all. It gives two options for large creatures - use a large version OR use a smaller two handed weapon in one hand. Both are listed in separate paragraphs and it never suggest one thing is the same as another. I would say its a huge leap to say they are

That being said, using large bastard swords does the same damage as medium full blades. Of course what you are really after is high crit rather than versatile isn't it ;)

Minotaur has already lost oversized in its Dragon write up and subsequent Character Builder update. Don't expect bugbear to last much longer either in its current form
 

What I mean by equate is simply that the large creature can use either one, so they are equal in that respect, a large creature could use equally a large version or a two-handed normal version.

I am not worried about the loss of this ability, my DM has already ignored some of the errata (like Veteran's Armor) and he will not make us change retroactively. Besides, he wants us tougher than usual, because we are only 3 PCs and he does not want to modify modules so we regularly face challenges designed for 5 PCs. We have 2 strikers and a leader (my bugbear ranger, a drow rogue, and a longtooth shifter cleric).

I have already warned my DM about broken items and so we will never use this combination I posted about in this thread, I was just trying to understand how far it could be pushed within RAW so as to know what house rule would be needed to address it.

Thanks for the feedback.
 

dual strike is two attacks so damage from bloodclaw and reckless does not stack and if you actually read it says "that" attack so the - to ac last until next turn but the damage is only added to the strike on your turn not round. But there is a feat that allows you to use an at-will power for opportunity attacks and then you could use it there too. Weapon abilities can only be used if its in the hand your attacking with in the old D&D games you could have weapons with several abilities dual wielding is not a loop hole so stop freaking out about how unfair the damage is its not. a 1D8 mace is 1D8 + enchantment + item bonus + feat bonus + 1 at will property from the weapon that made the hit
 

dual strike is two attacks so damage from bloodclaw and reckless does not stack and if you actually read it says "that" attack so the - to ac last until next turn but the damage is only added to the strike on your turn not round. But there is a feat that allows you to use an at-will power for opportunity attacks and then you could use it there too. Weapon abilities can only be used if its in the hand your attacking with in the old D&D games you could have weapons with several abilities dual wielding is not a loop hole so stop freaking out about how unfair the damage is its not. a 1D8 mace is 1D8 + enchantment + item bonus + feat bonus + 1 at will property from the weapon that made the hit
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top