Blowing up magic items, yes or no?

Zelgar said:

For a role playing opportunity, if this happened in my campaign, I'd let the character go into a rage even if they were not a barbarian, esp. considering the history of the weapon.
Was there a history of the weapon? I didn't see one mentioned in the original post. If it's something the character had early in his career that grew and became more potent as he gained levels, I can understand being annoyed, I suppose. If it's just a kewl sword he picked up that's nothing more than numbers added to a roll, then ehh.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Zelgar said:
Will any PC be pissed if their +5 weapon gets destroyed - YES

This message brought to you by the Glorious People's Democratic Republic of Duh. :)

What would be the DM's other option would be to kill the PC, which would probably make matters worse. I don't know how you handled the saving throw, takyris, but if you rolled it instead of the PC, I would be thinking you were destroying my weapon without letting me have a chance.

It wasn't me -- I didn't start the thread. I was dabbling in hypotheticals. But if I DID do something like that, I certainly wouldn't roll it myself as the DM. I'd roll the wizard's attack to hit with the ray, and then I'd have the PC roll the save for his item, just like normal. Rolling the save for the player behind a screen is a whole 'nother issue.

For a role playing opportunity, if this happened in my campaign, I'd let the character go into a rage even if they were not a barbarian, esp. considering the history of the weapon. [/B]

I'd be extremely wary of this kind of thing. One of my most annoying Stealth Munchkins was fond of asking if he could get a morale bonus to hit because he was "Really Angry" at whatever undead, aberration, or necromancer he was fighting at the time.

For a real role-playing opportunity, the fighter should go into Power Attack mode and charge, playing an enraged person without any statistical bonuses from the DM. That's completely within the rules as written, assuming that a fighter with a greatsword of that level has picked up Power Attack by now.

-Tacky
 

left out a detail

I guess I should have mentioned the wizard's intentions. He wanted the party to survive in that room. He eventualy wanted to have them smashed and mashed going through his fun house for daring to come after him and violate his home. He wanted to see them crumble piece by piece. Toy with them if you will. The party was warned of his power and madness, but they went after any way. After the disintigration the wizard left, the party killed the ogres and moved on. And later the party came across a super magic looking box. After toying around with it some one stuck a +1 dagger in it and closed it. Then re-opened it to find 2 +1 daggers. The wizard designed this box to rob dweomers from idiot parties who so often came into his cave. It will duplicate any +1 item once and then suck dry the next magic item. (It only dups and sucks once until the wizard resets it.) So of course the same fighter sticks his back-up weapon in it (dragon slaying katana) and it gets sucked dry to power the wizard's Dweomer globe (don't ask) and AGAIN the player goes totaly nuts! And this time every one laughs at him. (he's over 20 by the way) Obviously he's not having trouble getting magic weapons if his back up is a dragon slayer. But still he believes, if I'm gonna put a magic item where he can get it, then I better be ready for him to have it forever.
 

Re: Re: Blowing up magic items, yes or no?

Plane Sailing said:


I think I would have been tempted to point out that it would have been much easier to distintegrate the fighter himself, and I'd be prepared to replay that way if he *really, really* wanted :)

Actually, the player would probably prefer that. It's easier to resurrect a disintegrated character than it is to replace a +5 super-sword....
 

Re: Re: Re: Blowing up magic items, yes or no?

hong said:


Actually, the player would probably prefer that. It's easier to resurrect a disintegrated character than it is to replace a +5 super-sword....

What if nobody brought along the dustpan and brush :D
 


When a character is disintegrated, his items are become unattended, and so they get disintegrated too, right? (though they still get their saving throws).

So he has to get resurrected and (probably) has to get a new +5 keen sword.

Or am I flagrantly misunderstanding the rules?
 

Cheiromancer said:
When a character is disintegrated, his items are become unattended, and so they get disintegrated too, right? (though they still get their saving throws).

So he has to get resurrected and (probably) has to get a new +5 keen sword.

Or am I flagrantly misunderstanding the rules?

You are flagrantly misunderstanding the rules. The disintegrate hits the character, and they have to make a save. If they fail, they die; and that's the end of the spell. It doesn't "roll over".
 

I take it that other lethal attacks don't roll-over either. Not just disintegrate.

Still, it seems strange that a character could be killed by a fireball, and have his scrolls unscorched. Or pulped by a sonic attack, and have all his potion bottles unharmed. Unless he rolled a 1 on his saving throw, of course.

Might be worth posting over in house rules, whether DM's allow killing effects to "roll-over" onto the character's items.
 

So you're saying that if I hit a person with a ranged touch attack, meaning that the bright green ray leaps from my fingers and hits Joe Player in the armor, and he fails his save, his body gets disintegrated, leaving his clothing, weapons, scrolls, wands, rings, gauntlets, boots, amulets, and the ARMOR THE BEAM ACTUALLY STRUCK behind?

No.

The spell Plane Shift says it transports people, but it doesn't say anything about their equipment. Does that mean everyone ends up naked in Acheron?

With fireballs and other area-damage spells, you don't calculate damage and do saves for all the items (except on a 1) because the average player has enough of that stuff that it's too complex to be worth the realism. With a disintegrate, it's all or nothing. If you fail your save, you and all your equipment, except possibly some powerful artifact that's immune or some plot-based device the DM really doesn't want out of the picture, goes bye-bye.

There will be no little empty piles of clothes left. That's silly. Especially when the clothes are what the ranged touch technically hit anyway.

-Tacky
 

Remove ads

Top