Tiberius
Explorer
Silly or no, them's the rules. I refer you to the FAQ:
This makes the Disintegrate spell far more useful, IMO. Besides, the ranged touch attack needn't necessarily strike the armor. There is almost certainly some exposed surface somewhere.
As for the original question of this thread, I see nothing wrong with what the wizard did. I would have gone with Dispel Magic then Shatter myself, but I can see the economy of using only one spell. I'm also the type to try to Disintegrate the character and follow it up with a Quickened Gust of Wind, so I'm probably not the best person to ask about player-approved tactics.
-Tiberius
If a character fails her saving throw against a disintegrate
spell, are all her items disintegrated with her?
No. When a character fails a saving throw against a spell or other magical attack, all her items survive unless the spell or attack description says otherwise or the character rolls a natural 1 on the save. If the character rolled a natural 1 on the save, one item the character wore or carried is affected by the spell or attack. (See Table 10-1 in the Player's Handbook and the accompanying text for details.) The exposed item must make its own saving throw against the spell or attack.
This makes the Disintegrate spell far more useful, IMO. Besides, the ranged touch attack needn't necessarily strike the armor. There is almost certainly some exposed surface somewhere.
As for the original question of this thread, I see nothing wrong with what the wizard did. I would have gone with Dispel Magic then Shatter myself, but I can see the economy of using only one spell. I'm also the type to try to Disintegrate the character and follow it up with a Quickened Gust of Wind, so I'm probably not the best person to ask about player-approved tactics.
-Tiberius