B's Forceful Hand

Shallown

First Post
Some confusion arose this weekend over this spell.

It says it creates a Large hand. Capital L I assume that is a 10 X 10 hand and therefore takes up a 10 X 10 space. I was wondering how to treat this Hand since it only really affects 1 subject/target.

Questions like Does it suffer the double move penalty and to hit Ac penalties in a 5 X 5 space. I know it has no movement itself but while doing its bullrush in a confined space does it only bullrush at 1/2 its normal amount.

Does it provide cover as a Large creature or is the cover bonus only for the caster which is what the Spell technically reads.

And I know what the Word pursues means but how exacting is this. Does it mean that the hand will knock aside allies to hunt down the target. It doesn't teleport or anything that I can tell since its movementis unlimited in doeing its job.

Also since it is large and assumed atthis point to be 10 feet across what if two creatures are standing side by side in front of it. Does it only bullrush one and take the limited movement penalties etc for squeezing into one space if t succeeds.


Here is the Text of the SRD.

Forceful Hand
Evocation [Force]
Level: Sor/Wiz 6
Components: V, S, F
This spell functions like interposing hand, except that the forceful hand pursues and pushes away the opponent that you designate. Treat this attack as a bull rush with a +14 bonus on the Strength check (+8 for Strength 27, +4 for being Large, and a +2 bonus for charging, which it always gets). The hand always moves with the opponent to push that target back the full distance allowed, and it has no speed limit. Directing the spell to a new target is a move action.
A very strong creature could not push the hand out of its way because the latter would instantly reposition itself between the creature and you, but an opponent could push the hand up against you by successfully bull rushing it.
Focus: A sturdy glove made of leather or heavy cloth.

And here is Interposing hand if it helps.
Interposing Hand
Evocation [Force]
Level: Sor/Wiz 5
Components: V, S, F
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect: 10-ft. hand
Duration: 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes
Interposing hand creates a Large magic hand that appears between you and one opponent. This floating, disembodied hand then moves to remain between the two of you, regardless of where you move or how the opponent tries to get around it, providing cover (+4 AC) for you against that opponent. Nothing can fool the hand—it sticks with the selected opponent in spite of darkness, invisibility, polymorphing, or any other attempt at hiding or disguise. The hand does not pursue an opponent, however.
An interposing hand is 10 feet long and about that wide with its fingers outstretched. It has as many hit points as you do when you’re undamaged, and its AC is 20 (–1 size, +11 natural). It takes damage as a normal creature, but most magical effects that don’t cause damage do not affect it.
The hand never provokes attacks of opportunity from opponents. It cannot push through a wall of force or enter an antimagic field, but it suffers the full effect of a prismatic wall or prismatic sphere. The hand makes saving throws as its caster.
Disintegrate or a successful dispel magic destroys it.
Any creature weighing 2,000 pounds or less that tries to push past the hand is slowed to half its normal speed. The hand cannot reduce the speed of a creature weighing more than 2,000 pounds, but it still affects the creature’s attacks.
Directing the spell to a new target is a move action.
Focus: A soft glove.



Lots of questions that I adjudicated last night but I wanted everyone elses opinion on it so if some different arguements/interpretations existed I could go back and adjust the Rulings.

Later and thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There is no such thing as "half movement" for the hand because it has no speed limit. It is not affected by enclosed spaces or other movement restrictions. When making a bull rush it moves the full amount allowed, even through a 5' tunnel. (If the mental image bothers you, imagine the hand balling itself up to fit through the space.)

The hand provides cover in all directions, just like any solid object of its size. The spell explicitly points out that the caster gets cover because that is its purpose, but it doesn't prevent other creatures from benefittting as well. In particular, remember that the target also has cover from the caster.

The hand always stays in between the caster and target, regardless of where or how fast the target moves. In the case of the interposing hand, saying it "does not pursue" means that the hand remains a certain distance from the caster. The forceful hand does pursue; that is, it moves away from the caster and toward the target, to the limit of spell range. If an ally happens to be between the forceful hand and its target, the hand will try and move through him; the spell description does not define exactly what happens then, but I would treat it as an Overrun attempt.
 
Last edited:

I can see the movement thing working either way as far as the only time I penalized its movement was when it was pushing the target between two people. When it moved into the space once occupied by the target (a 5 foot space) I halfed the number of feet it could push it back. Since It has no speed movement in any other confined space is irrelevant.

Which comes to some more interesting questions. What happens when the target becomes completely blocked off. Far side of a door or wall. Can the hand then pursue. I wouldn't think so for line of effect but if the target reappeared somewhere else then it would move to intercept regardless of distance (within spell range)

So next question. Target teleports to beside caster. The hand moves instantly to intercept but can it fit between caster and target? the spell says something about the hand being pushed against the caster.

This spell has way to many questions and since the player just aquired it so he has some options as an Envoker. I suspect he will use it again and this may come into play.

Oh well.

Thanks Aura

Later
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top