I don’t think this works as a counter-argument because if it was the intent for the attack not to be part of the effect of the spell (which we know it wasn’t, but hypothetically if it was), what is the alternative to putting that instruction in the text of the spell?
Interesting point. Hmm. I'm not sure there
is anywhere to put such an instruction. Maybe in the components line they could have written: "V, S (see text), M (a weapon)"? That might have permitted part of the text of the spell to describe the somatic component as including a melee weapon attack, rather than the text exclusively describing the spell's effect. (I can see that approach creating other problems, however.) But I don't think it's fatal to my argument even if there isn't anywhere to put such an instruction--it would just mean that a spell-specific exception to the Cast a Spell rules can't be expressed in 5e without creating the type of problems we see in
Booming Blade.
I don’t agree with that interpretation. The caster of a spell that gets countered has still taken the Cast a Spell action, of which the attack is part.
Interesting! So are you saying that the ability to make a melee weapon attack as part of a Cast a Spell action is a
result of casting
Booming Blade without being an
effect of the spell? If so, it seems to me that you're not using the natural language definition of "effect" and are instead assuming a D&D-specific definition. (Which definition is better is up for debate--I'm just pointing out that your reading requires departing from natural language.)
I'm not on Twitter, but it would be interesting to see whether JC thinks
Counterspell stops the melee weapon attack. If anyone wants to ask, I'd recommend this wording:
Is the melee weapon attack required to cast Booming Blade an effect of the spell that would be stopped by a Counterspell? Or can the caster of a counterspelled Booming Blade still make an unenhanced melee weapon attack as part of their Cast a Spell action?
EDIT: Nevermind, I should have googled before posting. It's already been asked, and the answer is no, you don't get to make the melee weapon attack:
If my Green-Flame Blade is Counterspelled, do I still get to make a normal melee attack.
Again, I disagree. Attacking isn’t magic, so a. antimagic field shouldn’t prevent the character from doing it, any more than it stops them from performing the verbal components.
Here I think the rules are very clear: you cannot cast a spell in an
Antimagic Field due to the text "Within the sphere, spells can't be cast". The only way to make a melee weapon attack as part of a Cast a Spell action is if you're casting
Booming Blade or
Greenflame Blade. Since neither spell can be cast in an AMF, the normal rules of Cast a Spell apply, which only permit VSM/F components and not melee weapon attacks.
Well, on that I do agree with you. BB and GFB are written in a way that causes confusion, and even if you don’t agree with my technical reading of the rules, I hope I have demonstrated how it is at least a possible interpretation of the text, despite explicitly being contrary to the design intent. It would have been far better to have just worded it “you make a melee weapon attack against the target with the weapon used as the material components” instead of putting in the bit about it being part of the action used to cast the spell.
I agree that your proposed wording would have avoided these problems.