Celestial Brillance and Earth Reaver troubles

Scion said:
The quote he gave is talking about a completely seperate part of the game.

Damage from two melfs on one creature will deal damage just as well as having one melf and one other spell that is just like melfs but not called melfs and as one melfs and one ice storm.

Feel free to house rule whatever you want.

Damage always 'stacks', it isnt a 'penalty'. Unless someone can come up with an actual rule that talks about this then that is simply how it is. Damage, even from multiple spells of the same name, in the same area, will stack with all other damages in the same area.

Point to where in the stated rule it talks about "stacking", "bonuses" or "penalties".

Which part of

In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies.

do you have trouble understanding?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

James McMurray said:
What Scion said.

Bonuses and penalties from a spell do not stack. Damage is neither of those. In fact, I'd be surprised if you cold even find a reference to the word "stack" being applied to damage anywhere in the rules. The stacking rules are for bonuses and penalties only.
"Likewise, two haste spells do not make a creature doubly fast." -- PHB p.172.
 

Hate to say this hong (not I dont but hell Ill be polite) But your wrong
You will find another thread in here on melfs acid arrow and stacking and geuss what, you took your quote completely out of context.
Infact it is revealled that what you quoted is a SUB HEADING of the rules on BUFFS.
Yes that right, this quote is from a section already explicitly stated to affect BUFF spells and NOT damage spells.

The thread is
http://www.enworld.org/forums/showthread.php?t=79963

From the thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by hong
"Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths: In cases when two or more identical spells are operating in the same area or on the same target, but at different strengths, only the best one applies."

Taken out of context.

"Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves.
More generally, two bonuses of the same type don't stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above)."

Your quote is a sub-heading below that one, so we're talking about the usual bonuses/maluses, not damage effects. Melf hurts, two Melfs hurt more."

You CANT take things out of such an explict context, because clearly all the rules under that heading apply ONLY to the subjects of that heading.

So pleasepleaseplease. Be quiet
Sooner rather than later

Majere
 

Majere said:
Hate to say this hong (not I dont but hell Ill be polite) But your wrong

That's what they all say.

You will find another thread in here on melfs acid arrow and stacking and geuss what, you took your quote completely out of context.
Infact it is revealled that what you quoted is a SUB HEADING of the rules on BUFFS.
Yes that right, this quote is from a section already explicitly stated to affect BUFF spells and NOT damage spells.

There is nothing in that particular section that says it only pertains to buff spells. You may be meaning to say that it pertains to bonuses and penalties, but that's not what the _specific_ subsection talks about. Furthermore, one of the examples in the section is how multiple hastes don't make you faster, and that has nothing to do with bonuses and penalties.


You have this fascinating ability to tell me about things of which I already know.

Taken out of context.

"Spells that provide bonuses or penalties on attack rolls, damage rolls, saving throws, and other attributes usually do not stack with themselves.
More generally, two bonuses of the same type don't stack even if they come from different spells (or from effects other than spells; see Bonus Types, above)."

Your quote is a sub-heading below that one, so we're talking about the usual bonuses/maluses, not damage effects. Melf hurts, two Melfs hurt more."

And you'll have seen my response in that thread, which for the benefit of the ill-informed I will repeat here:

The rule that says you need room to move for a Reflex save is under the Evasion description.

The rule that says magic items produce spell-like effects is under item saving throws.

The rule that says you can use two crossbows is under the crossbow description, not in the combat chapter.

Context is meaningless in the context of the D&D rules.

You CANT take things out of such an explict context, because clearly all the rules under that heading apply ONLY to the subjects of that heading.

You're new here, aren't you?

So pleasepleaseplease. Be quiet
Sooner rather than later

Indeed, you are.
 

The next person to be rude in this thread isn't especially going to like the results. Hong, quit baiting people. I can tell when you get snarky -- you suddenly start quoting posts line-by-line. People should either discuss the rules question calmly and in a friendly manner, or don't post. I'm not in the mood to micro-manage the behavior of adults. Frankly, I shouldn't have to.

If this is somehow a problem, email me instead of posting about it here.

After reviewing this I'm of the opinion that the damage could arguably stack, and that the spell is a steaming pile of dung... which, coincidentally enough, is what the WotC designer who came up with it should be pushed into. :D
 
Last edited:

Of course this quote is in the same section as the one hong posted:

Same Effect with Differing Results: The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.


So we have the same effect with different results. The effects are all applied to the target (they take the damage) but only the biggest one is counted for other effects (ie they will take damage from each melfs acid arrow but only the biggest will count towards continuous damage concentration checks).

Easy enough. The creature will take damage from all of them (2 + 4 + 3 = 9 damage to the target with the 3 acid arrows on him) but only the biggest counts towards anything else (+2 to continuous damage concentration dc checks).
 

Piratecat said:
I'm not in the mood to micro-manage the behavior of adults. Frankly, I shouldn't have to.

Is it a requirement to be an adult to post in EN World ? I doubt it... as for being mature... that certainly is not a requirement :D
 

Remove ads

Top