Thanee
First Post
Infiniti2000 said:How is that any different than when not doing it on an AoO? There's absolutely no difference as far as the target of the cleave is concerned. In either case, he is doing nothing differently to let his guard down. So, in fact, your choice to not allow the cleave is completely arbitrary.
The difference is, that it's not the turn of the cleaving character.
You cannot attack others when it is not your turn, unless they let their guard down.
The second target has not done so, therefore cannot be attacked by you.
Normally, the second target could have been attacked with the original attack, too.
On an AoO, this is not possible. That's the difference!
It's absolutely not arbitrary, it's an extension of this part here...
"The extra attack is with the same weapon and at the same bonus as the attack that dropped the previous creature."
Basically, the attack has the same 'restrictions' (not in the RAW, it just has same weapon, same bonus listed there, but I'm not talking about the RAW, as I made clear in my first post already) as the original attack and while it is a completely new attack in the rules, it is certainly meant to represent the same attack, just following through. An attack of opportunity is an attack, which is only able to target a single creature, the one that provoked the AoO. I place the same restriction on the potential follow-through attack, which means, that it cannot be done, since the only viable target, the one that just dropped, cannot be attacked with it, since you can only attack another target with Cleave.
It seems more like you just want to not allow cleaves at all.
Interesting conclusion!

Bye
Thanee