Chill Touch and Cleave

Hypersmurf

Moderatarrrrh...
Any reason why, if someone has multiple charges of Chill Touch and they use their melee touch attack to Chill someone, dropping them, they couldn't Cleave with another Chill Touch on an adjacent opponent?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No rules based reason from my point of view, but i didn't consult the rules at all.

But cleaving with touch attacks is opposed to my picture of cleave. You swing a weapon (best something big like an axe) at an enemy, fell him, and continue your swing thereafter. A touch attack isn't really such a powerful swing, but more an attempt to just touch the enemy. Similar could be said about, let's say, using a rapier or the like.
I admit, that this approach is opposed by the strength modifier given to melee touch attacks, as i would tend towards using the dex mod.

But that's just my imagination of cleave and not based on any rules.

greets, quez
 


The text for Cleave states that it's with the "same weapon and at the same attack bonus" as the attack that dropped the opponent. So I guess it would depend upon whether the DM ruled that the charges from Chill Touch are considered a weapon for the purposes of Cleave.

The rules already state that the charges make the spellcaster "armed" for purposes of attacks of opportunity, but since I don't believe it's ever actually referred to as a "weapon" or "virtual weapon" it'd be a DM's call.
 

Lord Pendragon said:
The text for Cleave states that it's with the "same weapon and at the same attack bonus" as the attack that dropped the opponent. So I guess it would depend upon whether the DM ruled that the charges from Chill Touch are considered a weapon for the purposes of Cleave.

The rules already state that the charges make the spellcaster "armed" for purposes of attacks of opportunity, but since I don't believe it's ever actually referred to as a "weapon" or "virtual weapon" it'd be a DM's call.
I was under the impression tha weapon focus and the like are allowed for things like 'ray' 'touch attack' and 'energy missile'?

I'd allow it, but I tend to be very general about my interpertation of specific rule limits (i.e. I see cleave's mention of the same weapon as meaning just that: the same weapon not meaning you need a 'weapon', whith whatever that means. Clearly anything you use to kill someone and make attack rolls with counts as a weapon, right?).
 
Last edited:

I wouldn't allow it, based on the duration of Chill Touch (1rd.lvl) and the number of charges (1/lvl). It seems to me that it was the intent of the authors to say that you get 1 touch attack per round with Chill Touch. That's purely opinion on my part, so feel free to disregard it.
 

I wouldn't allow it, based on the duration of Chill Touch (1rd.lvl) and the number of charges (1/lvl). It seems to me that it was the intent of the authors to say that you get 1 touch attack per round with Chill Touch. That's purely opinion on my part, so feel free to disregard it.

The duration of Chill Touch is instantaneous?

Was that errata'd? I have a first printing PHB...

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:


The duration of Chill Touch is instantaneous?

Was that errata'd? I have a first printing PHB...

-Hyp.
My 2nd-printing PH also reads "Instantaneous" for the duration of Chill Touch

Destil: Giving it more thought, I think you're right. I'd allow it so long as each Cleave attempt used up another charge of Chill Touch, and so long as charges remained. I might visualize it as a straight-armed "slap" attack that strikes multiple opponents.
 

Lord Pendragon said:
Destil: Giving it more thought, I think you're right. I'd allow it so long as each Cleave attempt used up another charge of Chill Touch, and so long as charges remained. I might visualize it as a straight-armed "slap" attack that strikes multiple opponents. [/B]

So when Moe slaps Larry and Curly in one action in those Three Stooges movies, that's an example of Cleave? Never thought of it like that.:)
 

Black Omega said:


So when Moe slaps Larry and Curly in one action in those Three Stooges movies, that's an example of Cleave? Never thought of it like that.:)
Basically, though I'd never thought of the Three Stooges in 3e terms before. :D
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top