Clarfication needed for Glove of Storing

If it can last 7200 rounds of combat, that could be the entirety of the characters career - years, in fact, before it runs out. If you pay a 20th level caster to do it, it'll last twice as long, or 14400 rounds of combat.

how many rounds of combat has even a 20th level character been exposed to? More than 1000? I don't think so. This GMW-in-a-glove could become an heirloom before it runs out of magic.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

GMW pretty much lasts all day as it is. The only thing the Gloves of Storing would let you do is stretch it out for a copule days, so the cleric didn't have to recast it every morning. Good? Definitly. But Gloves of Stroing aren't cheap. I think it's a reasonable price for prolonging GMW.

A couple of days? More like a month or two!

Gloves of Storing are cheap. 2200gp.

Compare that to the price of buying a +5 weapon - 50000gp.

Compare that to the price of a 4th level Pearl of Power, which would let your cleric cast an extra spell each day. 16000gp.

Reasonable price? Reasonable?

-Hyp.
 

Hardhead said:
GMW pretty much lasts all day as it is. The only thing the Gloves of Storing would let you do is stretch it out for a copule days, so the cleric didn't have to recast it every morning. Good? Definitly. But Gloves of Stroing aren't cheap. I think it's a reasonable price for prolonging GMW.


- Z a c h

When it comes to non-disposable magic items 2,200 gp is very, very cheap.
 
Last edited:

Hardhead said:


I see nothing in the rules that says you can't store a sharp weapon in there. Putting it in the Haversack puts it in an extradimensonal space, like a Bag of Holding, so a sharp weapon won't rupture the Haversack any more than caltrops will rupture a Bag of Holding.


If I remember correctly (books not in front of me) you cannot put sharp objects in a bag of holding. (well you can but there is a chance that they will pierce it and cause everything inside to disappear. ) The Haversack's description basically says see the limitations of the bag of holding. anyone have their books infront of them and can post these two discriptions?
 
Last edited:


isoChron said:
Hi Pooka,
welcome to the board, little halfling. :)
It's a pitty that our DM will not read this thread and proceed using his narrow minded brain to rule the game...
Oups, to hard ?

BYE

Hi isoChron, my dear Paladin!

You are too polite as always !
I will try to persuade our most brainless DM next time with the Lidda example ... then we can play the worst adventure we ever played so far in kind of peace ! Maybe I´ll bring the PHD to the lunch today ..



Pooka
 

Dark Dragon said:
Our DM is a bit picky about the rules and says that putting a loaded crossbow into a GoS would mean to put two items into it (the crossbow and the bolt).

Here's a possible way to get around it.

1. Prepare the crossbow for firing by pulling back the string and setting it on the cocking mechanism, but do not put a bolt in the channel. It is still one item. (*grumbles about overenthusiastic swear-word filters.*)

2. Store the cocked (but not loaded) crossbow in the glove. Since it is in stasis, the fact that it is permanently cocked will not harm it.

3. Summon the crossbow at the beginning of a fight, and convince your DM that taking a bolt from the quiver and putting it in the channel is a free action.

Step 3 might be the only hairy part. Try to convince him that cocking the crossbow is what normally takes the move-equivalent action. Point out that taking an arrow from a quiver, nocking it, and drawing a shortbow is all a free action - why should it be any different for a crossbow?

Hopefully that resolves your problem, at least in part.

Me, I'm personally more lenient about the glove than a lot of people. If you want to store, say, 'a stack of papers' then you can put a stack of papers into it - as long as you can hold them in one hand. I would not let you retrieve any single paper, though - if you put in the stack, you have to take the entire stack out.

I mean, come on. Tying a string around the papers makes it OK, but loose it's not? Closing the flap on a quiver makes it OK, but open it's not? Am I missing some major game-breaking thing here?

J
 
Last edited:

isoChron said:
It's a pitty that our DM will not read this thread and proceed using his narrow minded brain to rule the game...

Hi isoChron,
I can make him read it, next time he´s around. If you really want it with all the nice comments about his brain insuffiency...


Hi Pooka,
welcome to the boards. It´s nice to have you here:)


Orm
 

It's one item.

If your DM ask you what the rogue puts in the glove, she don't tell "a crossbow with a bolt", but "a loaded crossbow".

Just one item this way.

If the DM don't agree, go the hong way.
 

In our session yesterday we had a fight which might be interesting in this threat. My ranger and the cleric where in violent melee with a Cornugon (a devil). The bard got ready to shoot a greater slaying arrow (nice to have it around :D ) to kill the ******* creature. That was our last change since the high SR of the damn bastard kicked our wizard out of battle. But before the bard fired the devil casted a fireball. Unfortunately the bard rolled a 1 on his save :( and was forced to make saves for his equipment :( :( . Our DM ruled to roll separate saves for the arrow and the bow (longbow +1) (the rule for that is somewhere in the DMG, I think). I guess she would have done it the same way for a x-bow.
Do you see the problem with this threat? How can a loaded x-bow being considered as one item and two items at the same time by the rules? For me it is ok to accept that my ranger can fight without any penalty even with only 1 hp. That’s the rule of the game, so why bother about it even when it is highly unrealistic? So it is also ok for me to accept that a x-bow and a bolt are two items by the rules even if the x-bow is loaded. It´s too unrealistic or abstract? See above, laugh about it and play. Don´t forget: It´s a game (like Hero Quest).
Anyway: We won! :D
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top