Clarfication needed for Glove of Storing

pppo said:
Our DM ruled to roll separate saves for the arrow and the bow (longbow +1) (the rule for that is somewhere in the DMG, I think).

Actually, the rules about items making saving throws when you roll a 1 is in the PH, and it's only ONE item that makes the save. Only one. Your DM cheated you. Beat her with a stick.

Here's the exact rules:
Items Surviving after a Saving Throw: Unless the descriptive text for the spell specifies otherwise, all items carried and worn are assumed to survive a magical attack. If a character rolls a natural 1 on his saving throw, however, an exposed item is harmed (if the attack can harm objects). The four items nearest the top on Table: Items Affected by Magical Attacks are the most likely to be struck. Determine which four objects are most likely to be struck and roll randomly among them. The randomly determined item must make a saving throw against the attack form and take whatever damage the attack deals.

If an item is not carried or worn and is not magical, it does not get a saving throw. It simply is dealt the appropriate damage.

Table: Items Affected by Magical Attacks

Order* Item
------ ----
1st Shield
2nd Armor
3rd Magic helmet
4th Item in hand (including weapon, wand, etc.)
5th Magic cloak
6th Stowed or sheathed weapon
7th Magic bracers
8th Magic clothing
9th Magic jewelry (including rings)
10th Anything else
*In order of most likely to least likely to be affected.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Thanks Gez. I will tell her next time. But she is too nice to be beaten with a stick or something else. Moreover sticks are sold out for same reason :D .
The quoted rule (see above at Gez post) says to determine the four items which are most likely to be struck. Would you consider the bow and the arrow as two items for that determination? Well, I would because they have got two different values for their saving throws. Therefore they should be considered as two items for the determination. So far so good. But how about the GoS than?
:confused:
 

It's a bit borderline. A bow and an arrow are not carried the same way than a crossbow and a bolt; you bear (if you're right-handed) the bow in the left hand and the arrow in the right (thus, it's a different object in each hand), while you bear the crossbow only, not the bolt. The crossbow+bolt situation is closer to, say, a gun with bullets. Would a DM consider if you put a loaded gun in a GoS only the gun goes, while the loader, ammos, and powder fall ? I doubt it. (Even worse, take a loaded musket with baionnette.)

Frankly, I would not consider it possible to put a "loaded bow" in a GoS, although I still think a loaded crossbow pose no problem. That's because a bow can't be loaded, if you stop bearing the arrow, it fall (or rather, get hurled away). That's not the same thing with a crossbow.

Now, there's no real balance reason to apply different ruling to bow and crossbow; but it's a common sense reason IMHO. (Beside, you can't have mighty crossbow, so the capacity to quickdraw loaded crossbow from GoS is backed by a slight balance reason.)

To answer your question about saving throws, I would consider the bow and the arrow to be each item carried in hand -- so, another roll to see if that's the item in the right hand or the item in the left hand that is affected. With a crossbow, however, since you don't carry the bolt, only the weapon could need to make its save, not the ammunition.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top