Combat ??>> Flanking

Lord Pendragon said:
Yes. You're comparing a Thrown Weapon to a Ranged Weapon. They aren't exactly the same, as demonstrated here.

Okay, then.

I start the round, shoot at my opponent with my loaded crossbow.

I then drop it as a free action, and using my remaining move-equivalent action, draw my second, pre-loaded, crossbow.

A second opponent runs past me.

AoO?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Okay, then.

I start the round, shoot at my opponent with my loaded crossbow.

I then drop it as a free action, and using my remaining move-equivalent action, draw my second, pre-loaded, crossbow.

A second opponent runs past me.

AoO?
No.
 

You could take a Full Attack, then use Quick Draw to pull out your Sword. Of course, next round you have a sword in your hand, unless you have another bow to Quickdraw. Etc. Etc.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Let's say I start the round holding a throwing dagger, and throw it at an opponent. I then use my remaining move action to draw another.

Now, a different opponnent runs past me.

AoO?

A dagger is different in that it's also a melee weapon. Under the RAW, you do threaten an area with a dagger. My ruling would be that you don't threaten an area with a crossbow, much like you don't threaten an area with an unarmed strike (unless you're a monk or have the appropriate feat). I would, however, allow you take a feat to threaten an area with ranged weapons used in melee.
 


babomb said:
My ruling would be that you don't threaten an area with a crossbow, much like you don't threaten an area with an unarmed strike (unless you're a monk or have the appropriate feat).

Agreed, generally.

Except, as mentioned earlier, you need no special proficiency with an improvised weapon to threaten your normal range.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
With what rationale?
Ranged weapons don't threaten. Only melee attacks can threaten.

If you did a full round attack with the bow, and then used Quickdraw to pull a dagger, you would threaten.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Agreed, generally.

Except, as mentioned earlier, you need no special proficiency with an improvised weapon to threaten your normal range.
Your not using it as an improvised weapon. You are using it as a bow.
 

I think what he's asking is: if he shoots with one crossbow, drops it, and quickdraws another with the intent to use it as an improvised weapon, can he take an AoO with the second crossbow?

Which I suppose is the same question as: if he shoots with a crossbow, drops it, and quickdraws a sword, can he take an AoO with the sword?

The question being, when you find yourself armed with a different weapon at the end of the round than the one you performed your attacks with that round, can you make attacks of opportunity with it?

My answer would be no. Again, this is because of the shield bash rule. You're already spending the round attacking with one weapon. That's your weapon for the round. If you could bash with a shield, drop the shield, and somehow (quickened Drawmij's Instant Summons?) grab another shield as a free action, you still couldn't use that new shield for AC. So you shouldn't be able to perform that trick with a weapon either.

edit:
Come to think of it, I would probably make an exception for thrown weapons. If you've been throwing daggers all round, and end the round with a dagger in your hand, then fine. You can take an AoO. But if you end the round with a sword or improvised weapon? No dice. The point here being that the "I shoot and then draw as a free action" manoeuver is an exploit to get around the restriction of using a crossbow as a missile weapon and a melee weapon in the same round. It doesn't matter if it's a new crossbow or the old crossbow. You still can't use it as a melee weapon if you shot this round.
 
Last edited:


Remove ads

Top