D&D 5E Common rules mistakes

Well it is every class write up. If one of the races traits is subrace, that is a trait of all that race. Subrace is listed in the same way as darkvision or age or alignment.
Thanks. That's how I assumed it was, but since I'm not playing a subrace (or even a race that has subraces), and the OP said there was some confusion about this in the PHB, I thought maybe there was something I was missing...perhaps some contradicting info or something. Glad to hear there's not.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There must be a misconception somewhere... hmm
strapping a shield is an action? removing it as well?
Dual wielding bonus attack only occurs if you use an attack action to trigger it.
Now that I think about it, almost (if not all?) bonus action shenanigans come out of a certain action that you trigger it with.
 

There's really little confusion about it in the PHB if you come at it without preconceptions. It's just that in previous editions (particularly 3e), "Wood elf" and "High elf" weren't two different add-on packages to the basic "Elf" package. Rather, the regular "elf" was the high elf, and the wood elf was something entirely different.
 


There's really little confusion about it in the PHB if you come at it without preconceptions. It's just that in previous editions (particularly 3e), "Wood elf" and "High elf" weren't two different add-on packages to the basic "Elf" package. Rather, the regular "elf" was the high elf, and the wood elf was something entirely different.

However, seeing it this way, I kind of wish ALL subraces throughout D&D had been done in this fashion. Makes more sense to me that all subraces of a race would have some abilities and traits in common.
 

However, seeing it this way, I kind of wish ALL subraces throughout D&D had been done in this fashion. Makes more sense to me that all subraces of a race would have some abilities and traits in common.

I tend to agree. Though it wouldn't work in cases where different subraces trade out different things, unless you scale back the core race a lot.

For example, let's say a race has three subraces. One of them has traits A, B, C, D, E, and F. Another has A, B, C, D, G, and H. A third has A, B, C, E, and I. That's sort of the situation with elves in 5e, and at first glance it looks a bit odd. In particular, it can make for awkward additions later. For example, if you only had subrace 1 and 2 in the above example, you would have made A-D the core racial traits, and E+F the traits for subrace 1 and G+H for subrace 2. Then you make a supplement adding subrace 3, and things get a bit weird - do you give them the trait "not D", or do you retroactively change the core race not to include D?
 

* If you ready an action, the action trigger completes before you can react to it. So, if you say that you will ready an attack against a caster if he casts a spell, you do not attack until after the caster completes the spell. (DMG, Pg.252)

But what if you ready your action to attack when the caster begins casting a spell...
 

* If you ready an action, the action trigger completes before you can react to it. So, if you say that you will ready an attack against a caster if he casts a spell, you do not attack until after the caster completes the spell. (DMG, Pg.252)

Oh. Really? My players won't like hearing that. And what was that about not casting a fireball with a bonus action and also a normal action??
 

You can take your reaction, including using it to make an opportunity attack, even if it is your turn. ("A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction." BR, p.70) So if you do something on your turn that causes an enemy to use its reaction to move out of your threatened area (for example, wall of fire, if the enemy succeeds on its Dex save), you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack.

Note, though, that you cannot cast a spell with a casting time of '1 reaction' in the same turn in which you've cast a spell with a bonus action, unless the reaction spell is a cantrip.
 

Well, how about that? :o

I don't agree with that statement though. Extra attacks do not say anything about having to be on your turn. They just say whenever you make an attack action you may do another attack. If you are readying an attack action , you should get every attack. Otherwise there is no incentive for fighters to ever Ready an attack.
 

Remove ads

Top