Compound Bows and Damage Penalties

ConspiracyAngel

First Post
I think I know what everyone's answer is going to be, but just for the heck of it I though that I should at least put it out there for discussion.

Page 134 (Middle-Right column under Damage) - "A strength penalty, but not a bonus, applies on attacks made with "a bow that is not a composite bow."

From the above statement, then, one could assume that if you are using a composite bow then you will NOT have to apply your strength penalty to your damage roll. Now take a look at this...

Page 119 (Upper-Left) - "All composite bows are made with a particular strength rating..."

So one could then assume that using the two statements above that if one has a -3 str modifier, if he used a composite bow made to his str (4) that he would NOT have to apply his -3 str mod to his damage roll. But, if you read into it you will find that it also says here that the default for a composite bow is +0.

So here are my ?'s:

Why would page 134 bother with an exception to the rule unless it were truly applicable?
I mean, if a composite bow is not known to be made with a str less than +0, then why state that a strength penalty would not apply while using this said-composite bow. As +0 is equal to a 10, which does not encur a penalty modifier.

OR

CAN you have a composite bow made to match your own strength (eventhough +0 is the norm)? IF SO, then could you have one made for you at 4 STR and then not have to apply any penalty modifiers because it is a specially made bow, ergo composite?

- conspiracyangel
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A Strength penalty, but not a bonus, applies to a non-composite bow.

Both penalties and bonuses apply to composite bows... up to a maximum limit for a given bow.

If you have a Str of 16, and you use a composite bow designed for a Str of 12, you can apply your Str bonus to damage... but only to a maximum of +1.

If the composite bow is designed for a Str of 16, you can apply your full bonus, +3.

If it's designed for a Str of 20, you can apply your full bonus, +3... but you take a -2 on your attack rolls, since the bow is designed for someone stronger than you.

If you have a Str of 4, and use a normal (Str 10) composite bow, you take a -2 penalty on attack rolls, and also suffer a -3 to damage rolls.

In theory, you could have a bow designed for a Str of 4. Anyone using it would suffer a -3 on damage rolls, but at least you wouldn't suffer a -2 on attack rolls.

-Hyp.
 


ConspiracyAngel said:
Wait. But what about

Page 134 - no damage penalties encurred when using composite bow.

That's not what it says.

It says a penalty, but not a bonus, applies when you're not using a composite bow.

It doesn't say a penalty doesn't apply when using a composite bow.

-Hyp.
 

Yeah, I typed it verbatum in post 1, post 3 was sum up text... but to the point,

BUT the text DOES specifically EXCLUDE a damage penalty when using a COMPOSITE bow
 

ConspiracyAngel said:
Yeah, I typed it verbatum in post 1, post 3 was sum up text... but to the point,

BUT the text DOES specifically EXCLUDE a damage penalty when using a COMPOSITE bow

Where?

I only see a rule relating to "a bow that is not a composite bow".

I don't see a rule relating to a bow that is a composite bow on that page.

-Hyp.
 


I know. And I agree. ... but why? Why the exception if there is not a situation in which it would be applicable?

I lack the words to properly describe my feelings on this misappropriation of words.
 

ConspiracyAngel said:
***message repeat, please delete***
No it doesn't. The first block of text you quoted only says what happens when your not using a composite bow. It doesn't say anything about what bonuses or penalties applie when you are using a composite bow.
 

ConspiracyAngel said:
I know. And I agree. ... but why? Why the exception if there is not a situation in which it would be applicable?

Okay. If the bow isn't a composite bow, penalties apply, but bonuses don't.

If the bow is a composite bow, penalties apply, and so do bonuses (to a limit).

So to say "A strength penalty, but not a strength bonus, applies when using a bow" would be incorrect, because a strength bonus can apply to a composite bow.

So to make the statement true, we need to add that qualification. "A strength penalty, but not a strength bonus, applies when using a bow... unless it's a composite bow, because then strength bonuses might apply."

Shortened to "a bow that is not a composite bow".

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top