Cone damage and large+ targets?

RUMBLETiGER

Adventurer
A spell or supernatural effect, such as Dragon's breath, affects in a cone. Should multiple targets fall under that cone, each target would take the full damage of the attack.

What about a single target that is so large as to take up multiple squares? Does that target, if occupying the space of four medium size opponents, only get hit once and take the full damage once, or should it take damage for square exposed to the attack?

Are there rules for this?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Well, considering a target is a target, an enemy is an enemy, and an object is an object, I'd say you only get to hit it once regardless of it's size.
I'm sure that I've seen RAW to support this, but I can't remember where.
 


The point would be, has anyone seen RAW that supports or suggests anything else?

As was pointed out, a target is a target and a creature is a creature, regardless of size. When a spell says it damages/effects a creature, it generally means "a" creature.

Lacking any special exception in the rules, that would be the way to handle it.
 



I understand all you've said, and that is how I understand the RAW.

I was hoping someone knew of an alternative somewhere. Thanks.

I just looked up Slime Wave and Quill Blast, this is the sort of thing I was thinking of. I see how the individual spells state covering 5' areas or dealing more or less damage by size. I realize these are exceptions to the rules, but these are nifty exceptions to know about!
 
Last edited:

considering a target is a target, an enemy is an enemy
song17.jpg
a81.jpg
song2.jpg
song16.jpg

You are the weakest link, goodbye.
 

Remove ads

Top