log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E Dashing with flying magic items, yea or nay?

Winged boots (uncommon attunement) and wings of flying (rare attunement) give you a flying speed, so yes, you can Dash with them. However, a broom of flying (uncommon) and a carpet of flying (very rare) do not. They have a flying speed themselves. So the question is, should the user be able to Dash with them?

I'm trying to determine how to run this in context of examining balance between the 4 flying items. I think broom of flying is overly powerful without an action to activate, so I require one. I also require one hand to maneuver it (no hands required if you don't move that turn). Even then, it's still arguably as good as both the wings and the boots. It's almost as fast as the wings (and their speed is the only thing they have going for them, so that's apparently the reason for their rarity) with an unlimited duration (same as the carpet). If the broom and the carpet lack the ability to Dash, that would give a clear reason for the boots and wings to be considered more powerful. I don't think the carpet needs that limitation, but for consistency I'd probably apply it and it would probably still be fine--after all, it has an unlimited duration and if you could Dash with it that would effectively be it's movement outside of combat. Ideas?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I make the broom attunement, and limit the boots to a bonus action activation, at which point they cast fly (as the spell) without concentration, 3/ day.

But yeah, when you dash you double your movement speed. You can dash with those items just fine.
 

I agree with Sword of Spirit. The items that do not grant you a flying speed cannot be used to dash since the dash action doubles your speed, not the speed of an object you are sitting on. If a character is floating down a river on a log and the speed of the log is 60 feet due to the flow of the river, using a dash action does not make the river flow at 120 that round or the log suddenly twice as fast as the river it is in. Another example is being on a horse. If you dash, the horse doens't gain double speed. It has to dash, which it can do because it is a creature. The same holds true for a carpet or broom you are on. It has a set speed and only your speed increases when you dash.
 


Dash doesn't "double your speed". It gives you extra movement equal to your speed.

The rules for the broom are very vague. It talks about the broom moving, it doesn't say anything about using the rider's move/action/bonus action to control it. So you could rule the broom flies 50 feet, then the rider jumps off and runs up to their move. Then takes a dash action and runs their move again.

However, if the DM rules that the broom is a controlled mount the rule is this: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge. A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it. In this case the Broom can take the dash action (or disengage or dodge).

The simplest way to do it is to have the broom's movement replace the rider's movement. In which case, again, the dash action is allowed.
 

Oofta

Title? I don't need no stinkin' title.
I don't see why you couldn't dash based on the wording of the rules
When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers.

When you're flying with magic the magical flight is a modification to your movement and (potentially) your speed.
 


I don't see why you couldn't dash based on the wording of the rules
When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers.

When you're flying with magic the magical flight is a modification to your movement and (potentially) your speed.
As I said, the wording is vague, and I would certainly use your interpretation, but RAW, the broom does not modify a character's speed, it has it's own speed.
 

Oofta

Title? I don't need no stinkin' title.
As I said, the wording is vague, and I would certainly use your interpretation, but RAW, the broom does not modify a character's speed, it has it's own speed.
Replacing your speed is modifying it as long as you are using the broom. It's like in the Harry Potter movies my wife made me see, when Harry really needs to move fast he's leaning in and grabbing the broom with both hands. I always describe dashing as an action "tax", because you're dashing you don't have time to take an action.

In any case I'm just relaying how I rule. 🤷‍♂️
 


Oofta

Title? I don't need no stinkin' title.
But RAW it doesn't replace your speed. It moves, and you ride it. It's a vehicle, like a ship.
Can you drive a car safely at full speed while also doing activities that you could do while walking a normal speed? Seems like distracted driving at best to me. Flying a broom at normal speed doesn't require as much focus and concentration as driving a car down the freeway IMHO. In any case, a replacement of speed is a modifier to your speed, you cannot move using the broom land and then move your normal speed.

So I disagree. Feel free to rule differently.
 



Ristamar

Adventurer

When you take the Dash action, you get extra movement equal to your speed. If you have more than one speed, the relevant speed is the one you're using to move. The Dash action doesn't use the speed of an item/vehicle/mount you're using.
Now the broom of flying is an oddball. It has its own speed, like other vehicles/mounts, but the item assumes you rely on your move, rather than your action, to use it. I'd therefore allow you to take the Dash action with the broom.
 

Oofta

Title? I don't need no stinkin' title.
I'm talking RAW, not logic. And RAW, the broom does it's own thing completely separate to what the PC does. It does not require driving.
I am also talking RAW. The broom has modified your movement. We just have different conclusions.
 


Dash doesn't "double your speed". It gives you extra movement equal to your speed.

The rules for the broom are very vague. It talks about the broom moving, it doesn't say anything about using the rider's move/action/bonus action to control it. So you could rule the broom flies 50 feet, then the rider jumps off and runs up to their move. Then takes a dash action and runs their move again.

However, if the DM rules that the broom is a controlled mount the rule is this: The initiative of a controlled mount changes to match yours when you mount it. It moves as you direct it, and it has only three action options: Dash, Disengage, and Dodge. A controlled mount can move and act even on the turn that you mount it. In this case the Broom can take the dash action (or disengage or dodge).

The simplest way to do it is to have the broom's movement replace the rider's movement. In which case, again, the dash action is allowed.
Brooms can't take actions.
 


I am also talking RAW. The broom has modified your movement. We just have different conclusions.
Oofta man, you're literally just wrong, RAW. Like re-read what the item says. It's vague as hell but your interpretation is not viable even with that. I like the conclusion you're coming to but it ain't even close to RAW, wheres @Paul Farquhar is.

I think that in general, DMs should really want these items to give people a speed and let them dash, because every other option is way more open to problems, but it isn't basic RAW with the broom.
 

Is there any reason beyond strict RAW not to allow dashing on a broom? I'm not convinced it shouldn't be allowed, but if there were a balance issue I might reconsider.

Without some other reason, RAW alone isn't enough to convince me to tell a player "no" on this one.
 

Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top