Difficult Terrain when moving

Which square counts when moving?

  • The one you move into

    Votes: 42 91.3%
  • The one you move out of

    Votes: 4 8.7%

DreadArchon said:
I don't get why this is being discussed.

In the spiked chain example, you definitely can't step up to the Knight, because he threatens that space and the squares he threatens are difficult terrain.

Right, but someone brought up an example of a knight using a polearm, saying it would produce the same effect. The argument then was whether taking a 5ft step towards the knight from a threatened space to a non-threatened space (inside his reach) would be possible or not.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

pawsplay said:
I don't see moving out of difficult terrain as occupying it. For instance, if I leave my house, I no longer occupy it.

How can you move out of a square if you didn't occupy it earlier in your turn?

If you haven't had any tea yet, then you can't have more.
 

Deset Gled said:
Ditto. Per the text "If you occupy squares with different kinds of terrain, you can move only as fast as the most difficult terrain you occupy will allow",...

Misplaced use of this text. If you occupy mulitple squares with different kinds of terrain...

Meaning a 10' base creature stepping forward where one square is light underbrush and the other is clear gets the difficult terrain cost.

Final sum.. Knight + Spiked Chain = dangerous
Analysis.. use ranged weapons or spells :)
 

Nail said:
That's not the correct option.

When you can move 6 squares (30ft), which counts as first square of that movement? :D (Hint: it's not the square you currently occupy.)

I'm not saying it is; I'm saying that the OP failed to cover all the logical options. Since, you know, I read the original thread and knew that someone was arguing both ;)
 

pawsplay said:
I don't see moving out of difficult terrain as occupying it. For instance, if I leave my house, I no longer occupy it.

True, but you had to be occupying it before you moved out of it. Before you open the door and leave your house, are you not occupying it?

The quote provided from the OP never mentions anything about "moving out of" difficult terrain, only occupying it and moving through it.
 

Bagpuss gave a nice concise reply here:http://www.enworld.org/showthread.php?t=193638&page=2&pp=47
Bagpuss said:
People have already given quotes but the illustration on page 148 of the PHB makes it clearer that you only pay movement penalties for entering a square. Otherwise Regdar's final step (8 squares) would have actually cost 3 squares rather than one bringing his total to 10 squares.

The alternative is you suffer terrain penalties on leaving, which would have meant no penalty for Regdar's first step onto the difficult terrain (so it would have cost 1 square and not 2 as illustrated), so that can't be the case. It would certainly be unfair to pay the penalties both on entering and leaving he difficult terrain.

I think it has also been covered in the FAQ.... ah here we are.


FAQ Quote:
If my character moves from a square within the area of a grease spell to an adjacent square outside the spell’s area, does he have to make a Balance check?


No. As a general rule, terrain effects apply only to characters entering a square with the terrain effect, not to those leaving such a square. A creature leaving a greased square need not succeed on a Balance check to do so (of course, he must have succeeded on a Reflex save to remain standing).
 


isoChron said:
Is the FAQ answer based on a rule or just a guess ?

I believe the FAQ he is referring to is answered by WotC staff and is used to fill in "holes" that the rules in books may have left out. As always it's the DM's call, but if you want official, the FAQ comes right from WotC and is about as official as you can get.
 

That means if my character is standing at the border of the area of an entangle spell it cost him no extra movement to leave the area (if he made the save, STR check or Escape Artist check), but it counts double to enter the first entangle square even before he must make a save or check ?
 

Primitive Screwhead said:
Misplaced use of this text. If you occupy mulitple squares with different kinds of terrain...

Meaning a 10' base creature stepping forward where one square is light underbrush and the other is clear gets the difficult terrain cost.

Well, I disagree with your interpretation of "squares", obviously. But if we use your interpretation, it would mean that Large creatures have speed limited by the squares they occupy, but medium creatures don't. So the human could be in the middle of a bush and 5' step out, but the ogre with one leg in a bush can't. This seems very counter-intuitive to me.
 

Remove ads

Top