Difficult Terrain when moving

Which square counts when moving?

  • The one you move into

    Votes: 42 91.3%
  • The one you move out of

    Votes: 4 8.7%

Deset Gled said:
Well, I disagree with your interpretation of "squares", obviously. But if we use your interpretation, it would mean that Large creatures have speed limited by the squares they occupy, but medium creatures don't. So the human could be in the middle of a bush and 5' step out, but the ogre with one leg in a bush can't. This seems very counter-intuitive to me.

No, it still counts where the large creature is stepping, not where he has been. If a large creature starts off his turn on the edge of a difficult terrain area standing on four "difficult" squares his first move out (to two normal squares and two difficult ones) would cost him 2 squares, but his second move out (to four normal squares) would just cost him one. If he started straddling the edge of the difficult terrain (two normal squares and two difficult ones) and he stepped completely out of the area (to four normal squares), it would be normal movement for him.

It works the same as with a medium creature, but if any of the squares he steps into have difficult terrain then his movement cost is doubled.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Merkuri said:
No, it still counts where the large creature is stepping, not where he has been.

Again, the text "you can move only as fast as the most difficult terrain you occupy will allow," says differently. You occupy the square(s) you are currently in, not the one's you're going to be in.

Unless "occupy" means something very different than I think it does.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
True, but you had to be occupying it before you moved out of it. Before you open the door and leave your house, are you not occupying it?

The quote provided from the OP never mentions anything about "moving out of" difficult terrain, only occupying it and moving through it.

You occupied it last turn. Occupy means "to inhabit," not "to have inhabited." I am occupying something when I move into it. Poland, for instance.
 

Deset Gled said:
Ditto. Per the text "If you occupy squares with different kinds of terrain, you can move only as fast as the most difficult terrain you occupy will allow", you use whichever is the most limiting, whether its the square you move into or the square you move out of. You can't 5' step into the bushes, nor can you 5' step out of them.
The "occupy" bit is for creatures with bases larger than a single square.
 

I'll copy the note from the FAQ that I put in the knight thread.

I think it has also been covered in the FAQ.... ah here we are.

If my character moves from a square within the area of a grease spell to an adjacent square outside the spell’s area, does he have to make a Balance check?

No. As a general rule, terrain effects apply only to characters entering a square with the terrain effect, not to those leaving such a square. A creature leaving a greased square need not succeed on a Balance check to do so (of course, he must have succeeded on a Reflex save to remain standing).

I think that makes it pretty clear.
 

Again, if I'm stuck in a swamp and want to reach the hard ground next to me it's no problem to leave the sticky mud.
But it takes double movement to do the step from hard ground to swamp and sink into the mud ????
That far from everything I experienced.

To jump into a thorn bush is much easier than to leave it. :D
 

It takes double movement to do the step from hard ground to swamp, and NOT sink into the mud.

Me, I'd let you get from hard ground to swamp at your normal speed, but you then get stuck in that square like with entangle.
 

Remove ads

Top