Disarming an archer...


log in or register to remove this ad

RigaMortus said:
Can you make an AoO with a weapon you are not proficient with? If someone goes to Disarm an archer, couldn't they make an AoO with their bow or even an arrow (both as a melee weapon of course)?

Can you take a Free Action on an AoO? If so, you could always "drop" the bow to prevent it from being sundered...

1. No - you don't threaten with a melee weapon, so no AoO. You could, of course, choose to use teh bow as an improvised melee weapon on your turn, and then you would get an AoO on an attempted disarm on your turn.

2. Nope.
 

I see, so you'd have to declare it on your turn, using it as an imp weapon. Makes sense...

Couldn't an archer fire off some arrows as normal, then at the end of his turn declare he's using his bow (or even an arrow in his hand) as an imp weapon?
 

RigaMortus said:
I see, so you'd have to declare it on your turn, using it as an imp weapon. Makes sense...

Couldn't an archer fire off some arrows as normal, then at the end of his turn declare he's using his bow (or even an arrow in his hand) as an imp weapon?

Yes, and as a free action, if the GM allows. The problem comes in the next round...

Can he "unwield" from missile mode at the end of round 1 (as a free action), then rewield at the beginning of round 2, make a Full Attack Action, and then re-un-wield (also as a Free Action)? Most GMs seem to balk at the idea of two Free Actions and a Full Attack Action in the same round...

I'd let you do it. Others won't. Ask your GM!
 

Steverooo said:
Most GMs seem to balk at the idea of two Free Actions and a Full Attack Action in the same round...

Man, that would make archery super-sucky.

Ammunition: Projectile weapons use ammunition: arrows (for bows), bolts (for crossbows), or sling bullets (for slings). When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading. Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while normal ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

"I use Rapid Shot and fire two arrows!"
"Sorry - Rapid Shot requires the Full Attack action, and I only allow one Free action in the same round. So you can draw one arrow, but you can't draw the second one."

-Hyp.
 

RigaMortus said:
I see, so you'd have to declare it on your turn, using it as an imp weapon. Makes sense...

Couldn't an archer fire off some arrows as normal, then at the end of his turn declare he's using his bow (or even an arrow in his hand) as an imp weapon?

If that were the case, you'd threaten ALL the time.

But no - you threaten only when using a melee weapon.

As an exception, I'd allow threatening with an improvised melee weapon (chair, bow, whatever) provided it was meant to be used that way - at a minimum, that would mean it was not used for any other purpose during the wielder's last turn.

If you don't do that, the rule on threatening only with melee weapons become meaningless.
 

RigaMortus said:
Couldn't an archer fire off some arrows as normal, then at the end of his turn declare he's using his bow (or even an arrow in his hand) as an imp weapon?

I don't think it's something you declare, it's something you do. If you used it as a ranged weapon, then it's a ranged weapon. If you used it to bonk someone over the head, then it's a melee weapon. Both states last until your next turn. If you didn't do anything with it last turn, then I suppose I'd let the player decide the first time it came up (giving them the benefit of the doubt with regards to how they are gripping their weapon).

Another way to handle the problem would be to note that readying a weapon is a move action (unless you have quick draw). Changing a bow from the "ranged grip" to the "melee grip" could just be readying the weapon again.

Personally, I'd go with option one as it avoids the quick draw silliness. This same thing also applies to wizards casting spells with one hand during their turn and then using both hands on their staves "between turns" in case an AoO comes up. Just strikes me as rules raping and thus is subject to dark glowering on the part of me as DM.
 

Ki Ryn said:
Personally, I'd go with option one as it avoids the quick draw silliness. This same thing also applies to wizards casting spells with one hand during their turn and then using both hands on their staves "between turns" in case an AoO comes up. Just strikes me as rules raping and thus is subject to dark glowering on the part of me as DM.

Gruntharg's Law in the 3E Main FAQ says free action, for what that's worth :)

While it's a specific case (and not necessarily applicable to 3.5), a OotBI or Peerless Archer who un-ranges his bow to threaten with a spiked gauntlet or to use it as a flimsy, fragile, expensive, light, not-particularly-effective improvised club obviously can't use his Free Attack or Ranged Threaten class features...

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top