Dispel Magic Question

ElectricDragon

Explorer
To explain the question I will set up an example.

Three spellcasters
A. You
B. Your Ally
C. Enemy Spellcaster

There are other combatants; but for this example, they do not matter.

A. goes first and readies a counterspell if C. begins casting.
C. goes next and readies a counterspell if B. begins casting.
B. goes last and begins casting a fireball spell.
C. makes Spellcraft check (DC18) and begins casting dispel magic.
A. makes Spellcraft check (DC18) and begins casting dispel magic.

Which rule takes precedence? Does the exact same spell auto counter? OR since you are using dispel magic (even though you are countering dispel magic) you have to roll a level check?

SRD said:
Readying to Counterspell: You may ready a counterspell against a spellcaster (often with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell”). In this case, when the spellcaster starts a spell, you get a chance to identify it with a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level). If you do, and if you can cast that same spell (are able to cast it and have it prepared, if you prepare spells), you can cast the spell as a counterspell and automatically ruin the other spellcaster’s spell. Counterspelling works even if one spell is divine and the other arcane.
A spellcaster can use dispel magic to counterspell another spellcaster, but it doesn’t always work.

Ciao,
Dave
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say the primary counter spelling rule is in effect:
If you do, and if you can cast that same spell (are able to cast it and have it prepared, if you prepare spells), you can cast the spell as a counterspell and automatically ruin the other spellcaster’s spell.
So, the dispel magic of B is cast as a counterspell.
It is not cast as a 'regular' dispel magic, so the regular dispel magic rules do not apply.
 

So, the dispel magic of B is cast as a counterspell.
It is not cast as a 'regular' dispel magic, so the regular dispel magic rules do not apply.

/agree

BTW, the rules don't shine light on this well enough to know intent. So this is a question that can't be explicitly answered by RAW. In other words, ask your DM. Both interpretations are valid (dispel magic auto cancels dispel magic OR dispel magic must make the dispel check to cancel dispel magic.)
 

Remove ads

Top