Do poisons stack?


log in or register to remove this ad


Here's a situation that occured recently: a character is between 2 iron golems. The first Golem breathes a cloud of poison gas that covers the character and the gas lasts for 1 round. Then, the second Golem also breathes his cloud of gas over the character. Does the character need to make a second save for the second cloud, or does he not need to make a save because he is *still* in a gas cloud for which he already rolled a saving throw for?


Inquiring minds need to know! :)

Belbarrus
 

Does the character need to make a second save for the second cloud, or does he not need to make a save because he is *still* in a gas cloud for which he already rolled a saving throw for?

That's the "Troglodyte Question", and I have a feeling it's been FAQ'd... but I can't remember the response :)

-Hyp.
 

from Belbarus

...the second Golem also breathes his cloud of gas over the character. Does the character need to make a second save for the second cloud, or does he not need to make a save because he is *still* in a gas cloud for which he already rolled a saving throw for?

When all else fail, use logic. As an extreme example let's take a look at ammonia. At a concentration of 5 parts per million, it is merely an irritant. At much higher concentrations it becomes deadly, I believe its about 45 ppm for ammonia. Since the cloud of gas from the first golem has not dissipated, the second golem's breath increases the concentration. IMG I would rule that another save is neccessary (likely at a higher DC).
 


Remove ads

Top