log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E Do WBW and VGR rules on racial spells apply retroactively to PHB races?

ECMO3

Adventurer
The most recent books, Ravenloft and Witchlight, include races with racial spells where you can select the spellcasting modifier to use at character creation and you can cast the spells using slots in addition to the once a day.

Are these changes applied retroactively to the older races as well? Can my Tiefling now upcast Hellish Rebuke using his wizard or cleric spell slots?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The most recent books, Ravenloft and Witchlight, include races with racial spells where you can select the spellcasting modifier to use at character creation and you can cast the spells using slots in addition to the once a day.

Are these changes applied retroactively to the older races as well? Can my Tiefling now upcast Hellish Rebuke using his wizard or cleric spell slots?
No.
But I guess as a DM it would be your priviledge to allow it.

My guideline would be:
  • if it is a real spell, then yes.
  • if it is an inherent ability that "resembles" a spell (and thus just use the spell as a shorthand), then no.
 


Level Up!

An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top