Do you have to make an attack when using Combat Expertise?

Kai Lord

Hero
Or can say a Bladesinger use Combat Expertise to give himself a +5 AC with his longsword while using his free hand to zap the guy in front of him with a shocking grasp?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Kai Lord said:
Or can say a Bladesinger use Combat Expertise to give himself a +5 AC with his longsword while using his free hand to zap the guy in front of him with a shocking grasp?

You have to use the attack action to use Combat Expertise. This doesn't mean you have to actually attack someone; you can swing at the floor or something if the DM wants to be technical. However, you can't cast a spell and use Combat Expertise, because that's not the attack action.
 


The problem is that Combat Expertise applies specifically to the "attack action", and shocking grasp is a "cast a spell action". (Even though it includes a melee attack roll.)

Common sense would suggest that Combat Expertise could apply to any attacks you make, including spell touch attacks, but this forum ain't about common sense.
 

I'd say that you can't use Combat Expertise in the same round that you cast a spell with a melee touch attack (unless it's a quickened spell), but if you fail to hit your opponent the first time, you can use it in subsequent rounds.

Any argument for the use of Combat Expertise in conjunction with casting a spell with a melee touch attack can be generalised to spells with ranged touch attacks and from then on to all spells. It can also be generalised from using Combat Expertise to using the Fight Defensively option when casting spells.

However, as a house rule, you might allow the use of Fight Defensively or Combat Expertise in a way similar to casting on the defensive - the PC makes a Concentration check with DC 15+spell level to pull it off. If he fails the check, he loses the spell.
 

Len said:
Common sense would suggest that Combat Expertise could apply to any attacks you make, including spell touch attacks, but this forum ain't about common sense.

It's why you can't use Expertise with a Charge.

-Hyp.
 

Here's a question: Say you move your movement and then attack with Combat Expertise. Do you get the AC bonus at the beginning of the round while you're moving?
 

Was the quote about not using Expertise during a Charge real or sarcastic? If it is real, what is the reason as this is the first I've heard of it. thanks
 

Urbannen said:
Here's a question: Say you move your movement and then attack with Combat Expertise. Do you get the AC bonus at the beginning of the round while you're moving?

You can only use Expertise when you attack. So, your first move isn't "Expertised". If you use Expertise, then moved, you'd still be covered (you'd be covered, in fact, until your attack action on your next round).

AR
 

AeroDm said:
Was the quote about not using Expertise during a Charge real or sarcastic? If it is real, what is the reason as this is the first I've heard of it. thanks

You may only use Combat Expertise with the Attack or Full Attack action. A charge is a Special Attack.

AR
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top