do you need a free hand to use material compenents?

silentspace said:
Or do they just disappear out of your component pouch? It seems like they just disappear - I can't find anywhere that says you need a free hand. Please help.

It says that you must be able to manipulate the material component.
SRD said:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.
...
Usually you don’t worry about components, but when you can’t use a component for some reason or when a material or focus component is expensive, then the components are important.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


So what about with a still spell--do you still have to manipulate the components, or at least hold them in your hand?

If so, it makes fighter/mages much less viable.

Daniel
 

Pielorinho said:
So what about with a still spell--do you still have to manipulate the components, or at least hold them in your hand?
If so, it makes fighter/mages much less viable.
Daniel

I'd say yes.

There's always the exchew materials feat.
 

Pielorinho said:
So what about with a still spell--do you still have to manipulate the components, or at least hold them in your hand?

If so, it makes fighter/mages much less viable.

Daniel


Yes and yes (at least per the RAW)

SRD (again)

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.

Still Spell doesn't negate the need for matierial components (while there be be a class feature/ability somewhere that does).

Eschew Components is the feat that negates the need for material components (albeit only the cheap ones (less than 1 gp).
 

Pielorinho said:
So what about with a still spell--do you still have to manipulate the components, or at least hold them in your hand?

Isn't that kind of the whole question being discussed here already (be it Rune Magic or Still Spell, doesn't really matter, but spells without somatic components and with material components is pretty much the topic)? :p

Bye
Thanee
 

Pielorinho said:
If so, it makes fighter/mages much less viable.

At least those with heavy shields, yes.

Note, that the requirement is less restrictive than that for a somatic component.
And there is still no arcane spell failure, which only manifests through somatics.

Bye
Thanee
 

Now I know why it seems like all the Wizards and Sorcerors IMC take Eschew Materials as a feat!

It makes sense that the material component should be manipulated from the spell pouch, probably as part of the somatic action (casting the component into the air, etc).

I'd certainly rule that a hand should be free for casting.
 


Of course, there's some question as to what "manipulate the material components" actually means.

With fireball, for instance, it's probably an OK assumption that you need to mix the sulphur and bat guano into a ball, which forms the heart of the bead of fire released via the somatic components.

What manipulation, however, is required for the focus, a small wooden archery target, of the True Strike spell (which is otherwise Verbal only)? Is it enough to touch it, to brandish it? Perhaps it need merely be on your person? After all, if brandishing your holy symbol is enough manipulation for a Darkness spell (V, M/DF), then why would more be required for an arcane spell? Accordingly, wouldn't a small ring with the focus held within be enough?
 

Remove ads

Top