do you need a free hand to use material compenents?

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Of course, there's some question as to what "manipulate the material components" actually means.

With fireball, for instance, it's probably an OK assumption that you need to mix the sulphur and bat guano into a ball, which forms the heart of the bead of fire released via the somatic components.

What manipulation, however, is required for the focus, a small wooden archery target, of the True Strike spell (which is otherwise Verbal only)? Is it enough to touch it, to brandish it? Perhaps it need merely be on your person? After all, if brandishing your holy symbol is enough manipulation for a Darkness spell (V, M/DF), then why would more be required for an arcane spell? Accordingly, wouldn't a small ring with the focus held within be enough?

Seems pretty reasonable . . . although a really malicious DM would start making interesting rulings based on that ring.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Remove ads

Top