Dodge

How would you rule Dodge?


Nail said:
That said, the RAW is clear: On each action per round, you can change your "Dodge buddy". The player's reading is the correct one.
But "action" isn't clear either. One interpretation of "action" is closer to Chris Lindsay's interpretation.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Jdvn1 said:
But "action" isn't clear either. One interpretation of "action" is closer to Chris Lindsay's interpretation.
"Action" is a very clearly defined game term. There are standard Actions, Full-round Actions, Free Actions, etc.

Chris Lindsay (poor guy) is incorrect. If he feels strongly about his suggestion, perhaps he could have it inserted into an erratta. (or, unfortunately, these days he could just sneak it into the FAQ. (sigh))

[EDIT]Chris Lindsay's response does say "intention"....so he's not incorrect. He just doesn't give the correct answer. ;) [/EDIT]
 
Last edited:

I voted RAW, but have been considering house ruling as others have stated above for some time now, just too lazy to open Word and edit the house rules document.
 

Nail said:
"Action" is a very clearly defined game term. There are standard Actions, Full-round Actions, Free Actions, etc.
So why do you think that most people read "During your action..." differently? And, doesn't this kind of make the common houserule kind of moot?
 


Jdvn1 said:
So why do you think that most people read "During your action..." differently?

Two reasons:
  • The feat was worded differently in 3.0e IIRC.
  • Sloppy reading (I've been guilty of this)

Jdvn1 said:
And, doesn't this kind of make the common houserule kind of moot?
Nope.

The RAW states you can only do this only during your action. It also implies you can only designate your "dodge buddy" once per action. (I'll argue this point further, if you wish.).

The House Rule applies at all times, to all creatures.....at least, that's what mine does. :)

The two are NOT functionally equivalent by any stretch. :]
 

Nail said:
Two reasons:
  • The feat was worded differently in 3.0e IIRC.
  • Sloppy reading (I've been guilty of this)
I'll agree with sloppy reading (I can think of no other reason) but in 3e it was:
During the character's action, the character designates an opponent and receive a +1 dodge bonus to Armor Class against attacks from that opponent. The character can select a new opponent on any action.
Which isn't functionally different. I don't remember how well "action" was defined in 3e, but I imagine the same problem arises.
Nail said:
Nope.

The RAW states you can only do this only during your action. It also implies you can only designate your "dodge buddy" once per action. (I'll argue this point further, if you wish.).

The House Rule applies at all times, to all creatures.....at least, that's what mine does. :)

The two are NOT functionally equivalent by any stretch. :]
All right, so differences arise in the surprise/first round of combat (when you haven't had a chance to trigger Dodge) and for AoOs. Otherwise, a character can just keep declaring different Dodge-buddies. I don't think that's significantly different, but that's just my opinion.

EDIT: Oh, dodge bonuses doesn't apply when you're flat-footed, so surprise/first round isn't a difference.
 


Again, I'm discussing this from a purely academic view-point. IMC we've house ruled it....and I'm very glad we did. What a pain otherwise!
Jdvn1 said:
I'll agree with sloppy reading (I can think of no other reason) but in 3e it was:
Ah. Then I wonder why this was never brought up? This is the first time I've seen this discussion, and I've been on these boards since 3.0e.

Jdvn1 said:
Otherwise, a character can just keep declaring different Dodge-buddies.
I don't think so.

When it's your PC's turn, you declare actions. For each action, you can declare a different Dodge buddy.....but if you are moving down a column of bad guys, you don't get to switch to each bad guy in turn; after all, it's all part of one of your actions.

.....and when it's NOT your turn, yer stuck with whoever you last called. So that +1 Dodge AC is not applicable to all attacks you might face in the coming round.

The house rule Dodge is.
 

Nail said:
Again, I'm discussing this from a purely academic view-point.
As am I. I haven't decided how I'm going to rule this yet, since Ask Wizards made me rethink this. That's the point of this thread. ;)
Nail said:
Ah. Then I wonder why this was never brought up? This is the first time I've seen this discussion, and I've been on these boards since 3.0e.
That's what I'm wondering. Maybe some WotC person down the line said something that threw everyone off, or everyone just read the feat the same (wrong) way or... I have no clue.
Nail said:
I don't think so.

When it's your PC's turn, you declare actions. For each action, you can declare a different Dodge buddy.....but if you are moving down a column of bad guys, you don't get to switch to each bad guy in turn; after all, it's all part of one of your actions.

.....and when it's NOT your turn, yer stuck with whoever you last called. So that +1 Dodge AC is not applicable to all attacks you might face in the coming round.
I think it's clear: "You can select a new opponent on any action." Any action, not any of your actions.

That's part of the problem what that player did--it's a problematic sentence. Based on that sentence, a reading of "During your action" seems odd. If you mean to have the player choose a Dodge-buddy only during his turn why have that sentence if you already said "During your action"? Moreover, it'd be the easiest thing in the world to say, "During any of your actions..." if the feat was meant to apply to any action during the character's turn. That last sentence, though, is more broad. It seems that it must mean actions not on your turn.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top