Does a human using a weapon made for a giant get reach?

Zipher

First Post
Hi,

I was thinking, if a Giant (Large) sized creature gets more reach from a "reach weapon", does a human get reach from a Giant (Large) sized weapon?

For example,
- A Human wielding a Medium sized spike chain gets his 5ft reach x 2, = 10ft reach
- A Giant wielding a Large sized spiked chain gets his 10ft reach x 2, = 20ft reach

So.. if a human used a Large spiked chain (assume Monkey Grip feat) would that give him 20ft reach?!
or maybe 15ft if you remove 5ft from the base reach in conversion?

Thoughts? :confused:


Thanks!
-Zipher
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

By the rules, no.

And I think it would simply be too unwieldy for a human to get any more effective reach out of an oversized weapon.
 

BTW, what good would Monkey Grip do you? It lets you wield a medium two-handed weapon in one hand. I think you could wield a large chain and get a 15' reach, but, (someone correct me if I'm wrong, this is off the top of my head) you take a -4 penalty to all attack rolls for using a weapon that is improperly sized.

Calypso
 

Where is the rule that says no additional reach for large weapons?

I don't have the book with me but...
I thought Monkey Grip also lets you use a Large 2-Handed weapon even if your a Medium creature.

Also, I thought Monkey Grip reduces the attack penalty from -4 to -2... :D

-Zipher
 

The rules say that using a reach weapon doubles your reach, nothing else.

The latest version of Monkey Grip, in CW, indeed lets you use a a weapon made for a larger creature with a -2 penalty. So a human could use a large greatsword with a -2 penalty.
 

Henrix said:
The latest version of Monkey Grip, in CW, indeed lets you use a a weapon made for a larger creature with a -2 penalty. So a human could use a large greatsword with a -2 penalty.

OoOOooh. I was using the S&F version. And, good to know about reach. Where is that?
 

Zipher said:
So.. if a human used a Large spiked chain (assume Monkey Grip feat) would that give him 20ft reach?!
or maybe 15ft if you remove 5ft from the base reach in conversion?
15 ft.

"For each size increase of a reach weapon, increase it's reach by 5 feet."
-- Savage Species, page 42, under "Size and Reach".

(Small-to-Medium being the obvious exception.)
 
Last edited:

::drool::

So my Half-Ogre (+1 CL Large Creature) that has a Spiked Chain (Large) has reach 20ft (10ft x 2) and does 2-12 (2d6) damage per hit.
and if I add MonkeyGrip and buy/find/make a Spiked Chain (Huge), I'll have 25ft reach and do 3-18 (3d6) damage per hit?!?

Can someone confirm this? :D

Can anyone see a weakness of a spike chain wielder? becasue with Combat Reflexes and a reasonable Dex, this char would rule! ;)

-Zipher
 

Nope.

But then again, spiked chains and large creature PCs (particularly half ogres) being broken isn't anything new exactly.
 

Iku Rex said:
15 ft.

"For each size increase of a reach weapon, increase it's reach by 5 feet."
-- Savage Species, page 42, under "Size and Reach".

Once it's tweaked for 3.5 and the language tidied up a little, the Savage Species system makes a lot of sense.

But it was released prior to 3.5, and the 3.5 Reach weapon system is effectively identical to the original 3E (pre-SS) system.

The Savage Species variant is no longer the official rule.

It's better than the official rule, but it's not the way it works in Core 3.5 :)

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top