Does Adamantine Body Help With Sunder?

KarinsDad

Adventurer
While I am on the subject of the Adamantine Body feat, can a warforge character with an adamantine body that attempts to sunder dismiss the hardness of any weapon with a hardness less than 20 if he is performing the sunder with an unarmed strike?

Please explain why or why not.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No. The Adamantine Body feat describes an improvement in the Warforged's armor, it makes no reference to an improvement in the Warforged's natural weapons. Therefore, the feat does not improve the Warforged's natural weapons. Note this feat doesn't produce a Warforged character constructed of solid Adamantine. I believe the phrase is adamantine-laced. The reduced DR (2 vs. 3) is a reflection of this.
 

My DM says 'YES' I do, since I have an adamantine body sure i can have an adamantime slam attack. This is also backed up by the theme of the Warforged Juggernaught PC, in which having an adamantine slam attack fits with the bashing down doors style.

However this is a good 'NO' argument as well. Just because you have the feat doesn't mean your entire body is made of adamantine, or else any warforged with this feat would walk round looking like an extreemly profitable salvage operation. Also, as mentioned above, the feat counts as heavy armour, but heavy adamantine armour grants 3/adamantine DR, the feat only grants 2/adamantine DR.
 

For what its worth, Keith Baker, creator of the ECS and the feat in question has consistently maintained that a warforged with the feat only gets the benefits listed in the feat description and nothing else. No benefits on sunder.
 

However, by the core rules, heavy armor (except breastplates) comes with gauntlets and adamantine body is considered heavy armor.

And gauntlets can be used in unarmed strikes.


But, I understand and agree with the ruling, I was just curious because it isn't spelled out in the book and either interpretation works.

Thanks.
 

KarinsDad said:
But, I understand and agree with the ruling, I was just curious because it isn't spelled out in the book and either interpretation works.

It isn't spelled out, and THAT'S why it isn't allowed. The feat doesn't say that your slam attacks count as Adamantine, so they aren't.

Also, just for the record, the damage reduction granted by the Adamantine Body feat is FAR inferior to Adamantine Heavy Armor. Adamantine Body grants you 2/Adamantine, which can be bypassed by Adamantine, whereas Adamantine Heavy Armor grants you 3/-, which can't be overcome by anything.
 

something munchkins need to remember is that thinks are intentionally not spelled out like this otherwise the rulesbooks would be twice as thick and twice as expensive.I go by the caveat that if it doesn't specifically say you get it, you don't get it.
 

KarinsDad said:
However, by the core rules, heavy armor (except breastplates) comes with gauntlets and adamantine body is considered heavy armor.

And gauntlets can be used in unarmed strikes.

But, warforged can't wear armor, and the adamantine body feat says you are considered to be wearing heavy armor. Therefore, they can't take the feat at all.

More seriously, I'd consider the following: the only place that adamantine is involved in the actual rules is in how to bypass the DR - only the name and flavor text imply that adamantine is used in the construction of the warforged. It could just as easily be called 'Reinforced Construction' or 'Heavy Plating' and keep the same rules. We know from past experience that you should not read too much into a feat name or flavor text - for instance, "Shot on the Run" does not require you to shoot (you could throw), nor does it require you to actually run.

Based on that, I'd say that since it isn't explicitly called out in the rules section, we must assume it isn't granted.

J
 

drnuncheon said:
But, warforged can't wear armor, and the adamantine body feat says you are considered to be wearing heavy armor. Therefore, they can't take the feat at all.

Which feat are you talking about?

Armor Proficiency (heavy)?

As people here keep saying, if it doesn't say it in the rules, you cannot assume that. ;)
 

KarinsDad said:
However, by the core rules, heavy armor (except breastplates) comes with gauntlets and adamantine body is considered heavy armor.

And gauntlets can be used in unarmed strikes.


But, I understand and agree with the ruling, I was just curious because it isn't spelled out in the book and either interpretation works.

Thanks.

According to DMG magic item rules, gauntlets which come as a part of armor can be exchanged by any magical gauntlets.

So I have been thinking that when you buy "Adamantine Full-Plate", it does not give you gauntlets which can be used as weapons made of adamantine. If you want, you must buy "adamantine gauntlet(s)" separately as a weapon (or weapons).
 

Remove ads

Top