• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 5E Does anybody else wish that WOTC would release paper pawns, similar to Paizo?

painted_klown

First Post
Hello all,

I am new to RPGs and have started playing in a bi-weekly Pathfinder game, and have been elected by my friends to DM a D&D 5E game.

In preparation for playing Pathfinder for the first time, I decided to buy their beginner box a little while ago. All I can say is WOW! It's very impressive, to say the least. :cool:

Admittedly, I really, really like the paper pawns that Paizo produces for PF, as it allows you to get the same gaming experience as playing with minis without having to sink a bunch of money into random booster boxes to HOPE that you can someday complete your collection.

I am not sure how necessary these will be for running 5E, but dang it, they certainly are cool/nice to have IMO.

I would like to see WOTC do a set of these to cover all the monsters in the Monster Manual, as well as all of the monsters that are in the adventures & modules they release.

Additionally, I would like to see a "Hero pack" or whatever, to cover the various race & class combos that your players could use. Of course they would not be able to cover everything, due to multi-classing, but they could do 1 of each race for every class available (in the physical PHB), and make male & female versions of them. Doing that, you could get "close enough" to represent nearly anything your players wanted to play.

Essentially, kind of follow the model that Paizo is doing with Pathfinder. I like it, and think it would work well for WOTC as well.

Pro's: Much lower cost than minis, no need to buy random booster packs, the ability to know you will have what you need on hand, easy to transport, readily available, etc.

Cons: Not as durable as regular minis, no real collector value