reveal
Adventurer
The player of the Rogue and I disagree on what happened last session involving a trap. He didn't make a big deal out of it but I want to make sure that, by the rules, I was being fair.
The situation: There is a cavern with 4 hatches. Each hatch is made of metal and all look identical. 3 of the hatches are trapped. When opened, a Shocking Grasp spell goes off and whomever is opening the hatch (each has a metal handle on the top of it) takes 3d6 damage.
Now, Shocking Grasp is a touch attack and does not allow for a save. The Rogue in question has Trapsense +1. The player thinks that, since it's a touch attack spell, he should have received a +1 Dodge bonus to AC and I should have rolled to hit him.
I think that, since he's physically holding onto a metal object, the Shocking Grasp trap would go off and the current would go through the metal, shocking him. No touch attack is made because he is actually holding on to the object that is shocking him.
Was I being fair? Should I have rolled an attack roll? Or am I correct in my thinking?
The situation: There is a cavern with 4 hatches. Each hatch is made of metal and all look identical. 3 of the hatches are trapped. When opened, a Shocking Grasp spell goes off and whomever is opening the hatch (each has a metal handle on the top of it) takes 3d6 damage.
Now, Shocking Grasp is a touch attack and does not allow for a save. The Rogue in question has Trapsense +1. The player thinks that, since it's a touch attack spell, he should have received a +1 Dodge bonus to AC and I should have rolled to hit him.
I think that, since he's physically holding onto a metal object, the Shocking Grasp trap would go off and the current would go through the metal, shocking him. No touch attack is made because he is actually holding on to the object that is shocking him.
Was I being fair? Should I have rolled an attack roll? Or am I correct in my thinking?