Dragon Breath Weapon question for the DM's

just__al

First Post
Ok, I don't think this is a rules question per sey so I'm asking it in the general forum.

Dragons can use their breath weapon every 1d4 rounds.

Do you play the dragons as if they know when their breath weapon will be recharged?

If you do and say the next one will be 4 rounds later, will the dragon know right away or maybe after 2 or 3 rounds.

Dragons are very smart and when their breath weapon is available would have a huge impact on their tactics.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I rule much like a demon knows how often he/she can use a spell-like ability, a dragon knows the same for it's breath weapon. (Since both creatures rely on those fairly often.)
 


I would play it that the dragon knows when the breath weapon is back online in the round it comes back up, before it has made any actions. I would not play it that it knows, for instance, that "next round I will have the breath weapon again". That would be metagaming on the DMs part.
 

Number47 said:
I would play it that the dragon knows when the breath weapon is back online in the round it comes back up, before it has made any actions. I would not play it that it knows, for instance, that "next round I will have the breath weapon again". That would be metagaming on the DMs part.

unless you decide that dragons have an inate ability to tell when their breath is recharged...

which would make sense enough to me. as long as the PCs know when they're playing dragons, or riding them or what ever.
 

I play it that dragons know that the weapon comes back in 1-4 rounds, that is they are aware that it takes 6-24 seconds to recharge and thus they plan according to that. They also know that adventurers may be aware of and prepared for their breath weapon and so have some other sort of wide area of effect damage capability (Staff of Frost for a red, wand of fireballs for a white, perhaps something sonic for a black). Remember, it's not called Dungeons and adventurers....
 

Yes. Of course the dragon knows. He can feel the fire (or
whatever kind of breath he uses) building up inside him.
I mean, how much experience would an avarage dragon
have of using his own breath and knowing it's limitations? :)
 
Last edited:

I played that he'd know (and that it wouldn't be metagaming for the DM) to know 'when' and how long it will take till 'when' arrives.
 



Remove ads

Top