Dragonshield Tactics ( again, I know)

Lucas Blackstone said:
That seems off to me because you were choosing to move to a specific place, not a vague random square, as your action.
What if a character runs around a corner into an unexplored room? Does he pick the square he's heading for before knowing the layout of the room?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Lucas Blackstone said:
That seems off to me because you were choosing to move to a specific place, not a vague random square, as your action.
Can you please cite where in the rules it says that you must choose your destination square before you start movement?
 

Classic example of worrying more about the RAW than rules that make any kind of sense.

If it's stupid, not fun and disruptive then it doesn't even matter what the RAW says. Assume its a mistake and play in a constructive way, not one that will start arguments that the players will be on the sensible side of, RAW or not.

In this case the RAW doesn't even say that though.
 

I don't know about RAW, but someone from WOTC did post on these forums a few weeks ago to clarify specifically that the player could continue moving, if they had movement left.
 

The dragonshield ability is and immediate reaction not immediate interrupt, so it can't be used to interrupt the charge. The charge action resolves before the shift can happen.

So charging dragonshields is another way you can hit them other than having squares of movement left.
 

Your move action isn't done until a) you start doing something else or b) you've moved your speed or c) the DM gets tired of waiting for you to decide which space to move to and tells you you're done.
 

anomalousman said:
The dragonshield ability is and immediate reaction not immediate interrupt, so it can't be used to interrupt the charge. The charge action resolves before the shift can happen.

So charging dragonshields is another way you can hit them other than having squares of movement left.

If I recall correctly, the "trigger" is "an enemy shifts away or enters an adjacent square." This means the kobold moves before the charge's attack takes place, but the charging attacker may continue the movement forward if they have any movement left. This was confirmed, I believe, by the previously mentioned WoTC staffer post.
 

Jion said:
If I recall correctly, the "trigger" is "an enemy shifts away or enters an adjacent square." This means the kobold moves before the charge's attack takes place, but the charging attacker may continue the movement forward if they have any movement left. This was confirmed, I believe, by the previously mentioned WoTC staffer post.
Yep, this was clarified by wotc just as you say.
 

I would love to see the clarification on this from the WotC rep if anyone could tell me where it was. This is not a " I don't see it, it didn't happen" post. I believe you all. I just wanted to see it for reference material.

I still don't see why it couldn't interrupt a charge though, since there is movement in a charge action, anomalousman.
 


Remove ads

Top