Dropping a Pack

What kind of Action is dropping a backpack opff your back.

  • Free Action

    Votes: 25 28.7%
  • Move Equivalent Action

    Votes: 56 64.4%
  • Standard Action

    Votes: 4 4.6%
  • Full-round action

    Votes: 2 2.3%

  • Poll closed .

cmanos

First Post
OK, lets say Morgan the Rogue has a backpack full of loot and is heading out of the dungeon. The weight of his pack is enough to give him a -6 armor check, a max Dex bonus of 1 and a move of 20'/round. Without the pack he's unencumbered.

He gets into a bit of a scruff with a gnoll, and wants to drop the pack to be more mobile while fighting the gnoll. Now, dropping an item is a free action, but somehow I think shrugging out of a backpack would take more than that.

Whats you're opinion?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I've done this in the past, and I've tried to specify some method of getting out the pack quickly - like having a bag slung over the shoulder. This kind of gets into the realm of house rules, I'd guess. I wouldn't argue with a DM who wanted it to be a move equivalent - the dree action drop seems more for items held in your hands than for a back pack.
 

I would count it as the "retrieve a stored item" and call it a move action that provokes an AoO. Dropping the backpack once you have it in hand would be a free action. The only other option as I see it would be to not have it provoke an AoO, and that might be resonable considering that the "retrieve a stored item" action could be pulling something out of the backpack, which should necessarily take longer. I agree that it should not be a free action to unstrap the backpack.
 

Buy an "Adventurer's Pack" with quick-release shoulder straps, and make it a free action.

Generally, though, I don't worry about it - though I do make note of what I've got in my backpack, such that I don't treat it as useable during a battle, and I always remember to pick it up while I'm fleeing for my life [or, alternatively, purposefully leave it behind]. :)
 

If the rogue has a sharp weapon in his hand, I might allow him to cut the straps on the backpack and let it drop as a free action. However, even on here I don't know if I'd allow it to be a FREE action. Maybe a move action that does not provoke an AoO.

I think as a reward for creativity, I'd probably allow cutting the straps on the backpack. I like it when my players come up with new and interesting tactics.

However, a backpack that is large enough to encumber him is defintely going to take some effort to get out of. I'd rule a move equivalent action that provokes an attack.
 

I would rule that, as you can draw a weapon for free if you do so while moving, you could also drop the pack while moving no more than you max movement. Making it move equivalent.
 

Murrdox said:
I think as a reward for creativity, I'd probably allow cutting the straps on the backpack. I like it when my players come up with new and interesting tactics.

Well... it's not that new. It's given as a key part of what a fighter might do in a sample encounter in the AD&D 1st Ed. DMG, p. 225 (c) 1979. :)
 

mrtauntaun said:
I would rule that, as you can draw a weapon for free if you do so while moving, you could also drop the pack while moving no more than you max movement. Making it move equivalent.

Is this true? Can you draw a weapon AND move as part of the same move-equivalent action?

I consider removing and dropping a worn pack a MEA, but for different reasons - it's basically an adjustment to the gear you're currently using, much as drawing a weapon is.
 

moritheil said:
Is this true? Can you draw a weapon AND move as part of the same move-equivalent action?

You can draw a weapon, for free, while moving if you have a BAB of +1 or better, but you can't draw a weapon while performing a move-equivalent action.

If you have TWF, you can draw both weapons while moving.
 

You can draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move (not a move action) if you have a BAB of +1 or higher. You could also ready OR loose a shield as a free action combined with a regular move (not a move action) if you have a BAB of +1 or higher. The "or" is key because it may not be immediately obvious. You can read or loose a shield, but you cannot draw or sheathe a weapon. Note that sheathing a weapon provokes an AoO and drawing one doesn't. Neither readying nor loosing a shield provokes an AoO.

One other very minor comment, there are no such things as move equivalent actions in 3.5. :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top