Dual Wand Fighting


log in or register to remove this ad

I dont really think its possible without something like haste (3e haste), as there are no official rules for it.

I remember in 2e one NPC we ran into carried gun holsters with wands of magic missle in them, and would twirl them around Doc Holiday style. Very memorible character :)
 

There's more to activating a wand than just speaking the command word - on some level you need to "harmonize" with the wand somehow. That's the only reason I can think of that you need to have the wand's spell on your class list in order to use the wand.

Since you need to harmonize with the wand, activating the wand is a standard action (instead of the free action that just speaking a word would be). Unless you're hasted or something, you can't use more than one wand per round. The advantage to having one wand in each hand would be that you wouldn't have to take a round to change wands (ME action to put wand 1 away, ME action to bring forth wand 2).
 

I think of it as a wand (or any spell completion item) as being similar to a lock. If you have the wand's spell on your spell list, then you're provided with the "key" to that lock. It takes a standard action to insert the mental key and twist it, triggering the wand's magic.
 

I think I will create a feat that allows it, similar to how fighters can dual wield weapons.

I like the flavor that this type of combat would add to an encounter.

Dual Wand Fighting:
Prereq: combat casting
-4 to DC's of spells discharged by both wands.

Opinions?
 

I have the feeling that Brooches of Shielding are going to be very common in your campaign to make up for all of the Dual Magic Missle Wand Wielders out there. -4 to DC for spells that don't have a save means squat.

Or how about dual wielding wands of firestorm? (or was that 2E? heh)

My first impression is that this would get abused to no end. The only question would be: would it be abused by you, or your players first?

Heh. Wand of Harm (orig. 3e flavor) and Wand of MM. Dual wielded. Kill (virtually) anyone in one round.
 

So, what drawbacks would you include?

Limit the use to wands containing 3rd level spells and below?

Loss of HP for every use of the wand?

Loss of extra charges from the wand?
 

I suppose you could rule that those spells that don't have a saving throw would have a commensurate penalty to the attack roll (a lot of spells that don't allow a saving throw require a touch attack).

I can't remember the rules for Harm (does it require an attack roll?) but that still leaves a problem with magic missile. Maybe duel wielding a wand of MM could result in a damage penalty?

Or maybe dual wielding could warrant a (reasonably high)Spellcraft check. 15 + spell level to get the spell off (if you fail a charge is wasted)? Followed by a Wisdom check (DC 5) to avoid a mishap, as if you were casting a spell from a scroll that was too high level.

I don't know if that sounds overly harsh. But I think that if activating a wand is like turning a mental key in a lock, then activating two in 6 seconds should be hard to do. Even with the appropriate feat.

Dual Wand Fighting
Prerequisites: Combat Casting, Spellcaster 5th+, Spellcraft skill
Benefit: As a full round action, you may activate two wands (one in each hand). When using this feat, both wands require a Spellcraft check (15 + spell level) to activate, or the charge is wasted. If you fail to activate the wand correctly, you must succeed at a Wisdom check (DC 5) to avoid a mishap.
Normal: You may only use one wand at a time.
 

IMC, I nerfed Haste so that, while it did grant an extra partial action, you could still only cast one spell and use a spell-trigger item once per round. Thus, you can cast a spell AND use a wand, or use two wands, but you can't use the same wand twice per round.

It's working pretty well so far.

-- Nifft
 

Dual Wands
You can activate two wands simultaneously.
Prerequisites: Craft Wand, Combat Casting, Spellcraft 13+
Benefit: To gain benefit from this feat, you must be hold two wands of the same spell which you have created and given the same command word. This feat allows you to attune to both wands simultaneously and cause them to activate. The target or area for both wands must be within 10 feet of each other. Each of thee two wands activated in this fashion are drained of 2 charges rather than only one.


How bout this?

[edited for stupid spelling mistake]
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top