"Duelist Prowess" L1 Rogue Daily - now "Weapon" key word ?

Istar

First Post
Okay so with Blinding Barrage being nerfed, the choice between this and Duelist Prowess is made easier for me.

But changing from one troubled and errated daily to another troubled and possibly errated daily that is just as confusing as to what it does - now !!

It has the Weapon keyword in the CB, but not in Dragon.
So besides the argument over what is right.
Could someone illuminate for me, what you miss out with not having the keyword.

Plus i would like to confirm that the power is a rogue power, and will clarify for the Dagger Master crit range of 18 to 20.

Also, taking into account the new rules that allow you to get sneak attack damage on other turns outside yours, why would this be ranked as Purple in the optimization guides ??

What do you miss out not having the weapon keyword, even though the power has 1W in the bloody description I might add.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Istar said:
... It has the Weapon keyword in the CB, but not in Dragon.
So besides the argument over what is right.
Could someone illuminate for me, what you miss out with not having the keyword.

Plus i would like to confirm that the power is a rogue power, and will clarify for the Dagger Master crit range of 18 to 20.

Also, taking into account the new rules that allow you to get sneak attack damage on other turns outside yours, why would this be ranked as Purple in the optimization guides ??

What do you miss out not having the weapon keyword, even though the power has 1W in the bloody description I might add.

The Dragon magazine is pretty old (a couple years, at least) and they likely aren't updating the old pdfs with the latest errata anymore. The way it appears in the article is sloppy due to that missing keyword in the power (or at least in the attack portion thereof).

Without the weapon keyword, you can't set the damage -- there is nothing that the [W] can refer to without the weapon keyword -- and you don't get the weapon's proficiency bonus or enhancement bonus to attack or damage. The fact that it has a [W] means it needs the weapon keyword to function. (Technically, the power that lets you enter the stance doesn't need and shouldn't have the weapon keyword. The attack part, though, does need that keyword to function.)

I can't see any reasonable logic that would make it (the attack part of the power) anything other than a rogue power, which means it should definitely qualify for the crit range boost of Dagger Master.

As to optimization guides, the rogue one that I found rated it as purple exactly because of that missing keyword. Specifically, see the quote:

Dirty Deeds rogue guide said:
... it does have a flaw in that the power granted doesn't have the Weapon keyword. As such, it'll fall behind as your magic gear gets better.

I hope that helps. :)
 

In Dragon, this power had a funky layout. Since the associated power has a [w] in it, a sane DM should let you use the CB/Compendium version with the weapon keyword. Without the weapon keyword (on the power, not in the range), you don't get an enhancement bonus, proficiency bonus, and technically couldn't have a [w] in it.

Technically speaking, the associated power might not be a rogue power, but splitting hairs pretty fine.

The reason it's rated purple... the guide writer seems ignorant of the CB version, so you could ask about it.
 

The addition of the weapon keyword means you need a weapon to use it and that you can add magical bonuses for damage and critical strikes if you have a magic weapon. This is actually a big buff to the power. The rogue in my game has it and it is great.

Note that the strikes are immediate reactions so you can only do one per turn - yes you can hit each enemy on their turn, but it uses up your ability for opportunity attacks or use of other reaction powers that turn.

It does work with daggermaster, if you use a dagger.

It works well with cunning stalker feat as one if the best ways to ensure you get your sneak attack damage for each prowess attack.
 

Note that the strikes are immediate reactions so you can only do one per turn - yes you can hit each enemy on their turn, but it uses up your ability for opportunity attacks or use of other reaction powers that turn.

Huh?

I think you're mixing the two up. You only get one immediate action per round, and it doesn't use up your opportunity action. If an enemy triggers an OA and an immediate action on the same turn, you can take both.

(See RC pg 28.)
 


Remove ads

Top