Dungeons & Dragons Rules Cyclopedia

painted_klown

First Post
Hello all,

So, I finally broke down and bought a copy of the Rules Cyclopedia today. I had to pay quite a bit for it at a local retailer, but happy to have it, none-the-less.

The back of the book states that it contains all of the rules from the D&D box sets Basic, Expert, Companion, and Masters.

However, when looking at the book, it doesn't really break these down into sections, but rather, it seems to just have smashed them altogether to make a hybrid rules set altogether.

I am new to D&D (started with 5E) so I am not familiar with these box sets individually. Were all of these designed to be used together to form a complete rules set, or were they stand alone boxes that could be picked up and played by anyone (even if they had no other D&D boxes/books)?

Can someone please explain?

Thanks! :)

Obryn

Hero
It's all edited together into a single rule set. And it is fantastic. Probably the tightest rule set TSR ever released.

pemerton

Legend
Were all of these designed to be used together to form a complete rules set, or were they stand alone boxes that could be picked up and played by anyone (even if they had no other D&D boxes/books)?
They were cumulative: Basic dealt with levels 1 to 3, Expert with levels 4 to 14, Companion with levels 15 to X, and Masters with levels X+1 to 36 (I can't remember the value of X).

Each also introduced additional rules "modules" intended to complement adventuring at that level: eg Basic dealt with dungeon adventuring, Expert with wilderness adventuring, Companion with domain management (I believe - I never owned it), etc.

painted_klown

First Post
It's all edited together into a single rule set. And it is fantastic. Probably the tightest rule set TSR ever released.
Is it then (essentially) an edition on it's own?
Sorry for the silly questions.