Enhanced Stats and Spells

not_me

Explorer
I'm pretty sure I saw this somewhere before, but I seem to have forgotten where, and the exact rules.

IIRC, if one has an item (or a spell) that enhances a spellcasting stat, it must be worn or be active for 24h before one can benifit from the improved attribute score, be it for number of spells memorized, cast, save DCs, etc.

Whether the above is true or not (ie, even if it takes effect immediatly), what occurs if the character walks into a zone that negates their item or spell? The stat drops -- do they lose the bonus spells they could memorize due to the stat? Do they regain it after they leave the field? And if the above paragraph is true, does it re-start the time-before-effect-occurs?

The above questions could also apply if the person's item is removed.

I just wish I remember where I saw this info before and could remember it. Heh.

Thanks all,

not_me
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The item must be worn for 24 hours to gain the bonus spells. But the save DCs rise immediately. This is, in fact, the only use for actually casting stat boosting spells.

If the item is negated, the extra spells gained from it are lost, and they are not regained once the item begins functioning again (whether the item is dispelled, or the wearer walks through an antimagic field or whatever.)
 

What Lord Pendragon said. Also, that is only true for items. A stat-enhancing spell will not provide extra spells even if it lasts over 24 hrs.
 


Would someone be kind enough to provide the page number where this info is listed?

There's some debate on a ToEE forum, and people over there seem to think that the "official" rules say that stat boost items don't provide any bonus spells. I thought they did, but I haven't been able to find the exact rule in the books to back me up.
 

and where does it say that having your casting stat go down kills spells memorized? both in 3.0 and 3.5 if anyone knows the references ;)
 

Scion said:
and where does it say that having your casting stat go down kills spells memorized? both in 3.0 and 3.5 if anyone knows the references ;)
In 3.0 IIRC the spell descriptions states so... for the non CRPG munchkin gamers who actually read that kind of unimportant stuff.

Then there were some FAQ answers about this topic...
 

Since most of the things that can affect magic items only suppress them for a while - (dispel magic, antimagic field) I would rule in the same way as I would rule for bags of holding... the stuff becomes inaccessible while it is suppressed.

When the magic item becomes unsuppressed (moves out of antimagic, dispel effect ends) the caster would regain access to those prepared spells.

The only things that I can think of that would destroy an item are Mords Disjunction, a sunder attempt or a natural 1 on a save (assuming it was attended). In those cases the bonus prepared spells (or capacity) would obviously not come back because the magic aint coming back.

Don't forget, nobody memorises spells now. They are prepared at some point (normally at the start of the day) and only the triggering bits are left ready and waiting to be launched. :)
 

Darklone said:
In 3.0 IIRC the spell descriptions states so... for the non CRPG munchkin gamers who actually read that kind of unimportant stuff.

Then there were some FAQ answers about this topic...

Since the spells dont 'grant' spells in the first place then they would be the last place I would look to find a rule about what happens when you 'lose' stat points ;)

So either you read my question incorrectly, or it is the most horribly placed rule to date.

Or are you talking about spells that decrease the stat? because none I have checked so far describe what happens to memorized spells.
 

Regarding stat losses - there are numerous places which make it clear that you need a minimum stat of 10+x in order to cast spells of level x. If touch of idiocy or feeblemind reduces a casting stat so that you can't cast spells of level x then you just can't cast them (even though you had them memorised).

Stat losses that don't actually prohibit the casting of spells but affect the number of bonus spells available (e.g. going from Int 22 to Int 20) I haven't seen anything written about.

I'm guessing that (in most cases) the original poster is thinking particularly of the second case?

Cheers
 

Remove ads

Top