Eltanin
First Post
I need a little help with a rules discussion revolving around entanglement from a web spell.
I have a cleric PC in my game caught inside a web spell and she failed her saving throw. Adjacent to her is an unconscious and dying party member who is not in the web (but is, of course, prone). She is holding a wand of CLW. She would like to know if she can touch the dying PC.
From the SRD:
The bonds are anchored to an immobile object therefore the cleric can't "move". Is this movement as defined by the rules (i.e. 30ft/rnd) or is this movement at all? Is the cleric helpless? Or does web mean that you're entangled as above regardless of your save and you just can't walk if you fail your save?
I have visions of Frodo being entangled. It seems like he wouldn't be able to use a wand to touch someone on the ground. But I don't have any rule that I can't point to and say to my players, "See? See!?" This could be just my opportunity to put my foot down as DM, but I'd like some other informed opinions first. Thanks!
I have a cleric PC in my game caught inside a web spell and she failed her saving throw. Adjacent to her is an unconscious and dying party member who is not in the web (but is, of course, prone). She is holding a wand of CLW. She would like to know if she can touch the dying PC.
From the SRD:
from Web
...Anyone in the effect’s area when the spell is cast must make a Reflex save. If this save succeeds, the creature is entangled, but not prevented from moving, though moving is more difficult than normal for being entangled (see below). If the save fails, the creature is entangled and can’t move from its space, but can break loose by spending 1 round and making a DC 20 Strength check or a DC 25 Escape Artist check. Once loose (either by making the initial Reflex save or a later Strength check or Escape Artist check), a creature remains entangled, but may move through the web very slowly. Each round devoted to moving allows the creature to make a new Strength check or Escape Artist check. The creature moves 5 feet for each full 5 points by which the check result exceeds 10. ...
Entangled
The character is ensnared. Being entangled impedes movement, but does not entirely prevent it unless the bonds are anchored to an immobile object or tethered by an opposing force. An entangled creature moves at half speed, cannot run or charge, and takes a -2 penalty on all attack rolls and a -4 penalty to Dexterity. An entangled character who attempts to cast a spell must make a Concentration check (DC 15 + the spell’s level) or lose the spell.
The bonds are anchored to an immobile object therefore the cleric can't "move". Is this movement as defined by the rules (i.e. 30ft/rnd) or is this movement at all? Is the cleric helpless? Or does web mean that you're entangled as above regardless of your save and you just can't walk if you fail your save?
I have visions of Frodo being entangled. It seems like he wouldn't be able to use a wand to touch someone on the ground. But I don't have any rule that I can't point to and say to my players, "See? See!?" This could be just my opportunity to put my foot down as DM, but I'd like some other informed opinions first. Thanks!