ashockney said:Which part of that is unclear? I'm aware that undead can't be criticalled, but why would they have put this in if it wasn't intended to be an exception?
It means you do x3 against Negative Energy Plane creatures, who are not undead, on a critical hit. Here's one I made up:
Negative energy gremlin
Small outsider
HD 1d8 (4 hp)
Init +4
Spd 50 ft
AC 19
S/R 5 ft/5 ft
BAB/Grap +1/-3
Atk +6 melee touch (1d2 Con)
SA Lifedrain
SQ Negative energy protection
SV Fort +2, Ref +6, Will +3
Str 10, Dex 19, Con 11, Int 12, Wis 12, Cha 13
CR 1
Feats: Weapon Finesse (touch)
SA -- Lifedrain (Su): A negative energy gremlin deals 1d2 points of Constitution damage when it hits with a touch attack. A DC 11 Fort save negates this.
SQ -- Negative Energy Protection (Ex): A negative energy gremlin is immune to death effects, energy drain, and all other attacks that use negative energy, as per the death ward spell.
I guess it could be more clear, since it is an "exception" to the general rule on undead not being critical hit.
There is no exception, save that mistakenly inferred from the wording.
Anyone else try their hand at epic? What do you think?
At epic levels, things go boom in entertaining ways. This can sometimes include the game itself.