krupintupple
First Post
while looking for baddies to populate the brutal north of my campaign, i noticed an interesting tidbit of information from the writeup of the Winterspawn (p. 162, Frostburn). basically, anyone who downs a Winterspawn comes into possession of it's former gear: a blade, a javelin and some scale mail, all made of magic ice. while not distressing, they use the following rule:
as an aside, it's all made from magically treated ice, so you'll certainly be styling!
as i see it, you can easily rack up some fairly good items for a 9th level party from just farming these poor buggers. could someone please correct me, or am i reading this proper?
considering the Winterspawn's longsword is a +1 keen icy burst, that's equivalent to a +4 item (+1 magical, +1 keen, +2 icy burst), or a 32,000gp item - not bad for a CR9! that is, of course, assuming that it makes its save of DC20, but since it's minimum caster level is 12, that means it gets a +8 on this save = a fairly good chance you'll get a nifty item from an undead that, although he created the item out of magical ice, has no creation feats, only a single +11 bonus to crafting things out of ice. also, assuming that you don't somehow torch him into oblivion, he'll also drop his javelin (+2 returning icy burst) and his armour (+3)."...dissipate into vapour after 24 hours after the Winterspawn who created them is desrtoyed, unless they save a DC20 Fortitude save."
as an aside, it's all made from magically treated ice, so you'll certainly be styling!
as i see it, you can easily rack up some fairly good items for a 9th level party from just farming these poor buggers. could someone please correct me, or am i reading this proper?
Last edited: